sunfish trailer flag

so, as sweet as my double-fish trailer is… I more often than not will be only pulling one ‘Fish to sail. I have a small annoyance, in that, when pulling the trailer with my Chevy Tahoe, I have a very hard time actually seeing the trailer while driving.  the trailer is not very wide at all – about 48″ between the tire fenders, so I can sometimes see a wheel out my side mirrors when I am turning.  Plus, it is low enough, even with the ‘Fish on it, that looking out my rear-view mirror, I can often barely make it out.  this was compounded a few weeks ago when I had some cargo in the back of the Tahoe that blocked maybe just 6″ or so of my view out the back window – effectively eliminating my view out the rear-view mirror entirely.sunfish trailer flag

to solve the problem, I’ve put together a little flag that attaches to the rudder bracket on my ‘Fish.

parts list:

  • (1) 3/8″ diameter x 36″ long aluminum bar stock
  • (2) 3/8″ flat washers
  • (2) cotter pins
  • a safety flag (I used one from the tow-behind bike trailer I pull my 2 younger boys around in)

total cost: maybe $6.00 total.

I drilled (2) holes in the 3/8″ aluminum round stock for the cotter pins, one just above the rudder bracket, and one just below the bracket, with just enough space for a flat washer at each location.  I did find that the 3/8″ round bar slides easily through the upper hole at the bracket, but I had to sand down the lower tip of the 3/8″ round to get it to fit into the lower hole of the rudder bracket.  either way, it fits quite nicely now.

sunfish trailer flag attach

I haven’t officially tested it out yet, but I’m sure it will help a lot.  my next step is to add flags or something to the sides, so I can see it better out my side mirrors.

oh yeah, I also plan to have my wife to make me a sweet little Sunfish-sail style flag, similar to this one by Jim Manta to replace the bike-trailer flag:

jim mantas trailer flag

7 comments

  1. What a cool idea! We’ve been looking for ways to make the trailer visible from our towing vehicle (Ford Expedition), but it never occurred to me to mount a flag in the rudderpost. So simple, so elegant (in the mathematical sense of the term).

    Like

  2. Carol Anne – thanks for the kind words, but I really have to give credit to Jim Manta – his little Sunfish-sail style flag that I posted a picture of above really gave me the idea. I just took his idea, and raised it up a couple feet so I can see it!

    Like

  3. […] sunfish trailer flag – a new option Published September 4, 2009 sailing Leave a Comment Tags: sailing, sunfish parts, sunfish trailer, sunfish trailer flag from my Sunfish trailer flag performance review, you may recall that I lost my bicycle trailer flag after driving maybe only 5 or 10 miles down the road.  I needed to come up with a better option instead of just a thin little 3/8″ rod.  I described how I made the trailer flag here. […]

    Like

Leave a comment