sunfish trailer flag – update

so, an update on my Sunfish trailer flag.  as you may recall from my initial review, I lost the little orange bike trailer flag on my maiden voyage with my Sunfish trailer flag.  I then resorted to slicing a tennis ball, and jamming that thing down onto the 3/8″ diameter aluminum rod – this worked quite well, but I ended up losing that too!  it worked fine for the 300 miles up to our vacation, but I lost it on the way home – not sure even when it happened!  I still the tennis ball route is a good, viable solution for short-term trips, but maybe nothing long-distance.

anyway, my darling wife went away a few weekends ago for a girls weekend with my mother, sisters, and sisters-in-law.  a nice getaway to a quaint little cabin to relax and enjoy some time without husbands or children – and she spent a large chunk of her time making me an awesome flag to use! the color balance is off in my photo – the dark lines are a much nicer shade of green (green and white – for my favorite Michigan State Spartans!).

we still haven’t decided the best way to attach it to the 3/8″ aluminum rod – we are leaning towards adding a few grommets.  we also aren’t sure if we need some kind of support for the bottom of the sail, although I think when we’re driving it will probably flutter just fine… although another 3/8″ rod at the bottom of the sail might look alright to – it’d sort of mimic the boom of the Sunfish.  we also need to come up with a way to add a Sunfish logo – I’m wondering if an iron-on decal might work?

6 Responses to “sunfish trailer flag – update”


  1. 1 Eric Olson December 9, 2009 at 9:04 pm

    Aloha,
    I came across your blog via a link on “The Horse’s Mouth”. Looks like you have done some pretty creative stuff upgrading your ‘Fish. I have a 4-man Outrigger canoe I have rigged up for sailing with a Sunfish rig. Similar lines of creativity… The Wheel-eez link is awesome. A pair of those big “floaty” tires is exactly what I need to make a dolly for the Holole’a. She’s a little heavy at the end of the day. Check out my blog if you want to see a Hawaiian surf canoe rigged up with a sunfish sail – http://www.funhogs1.com.
    Aloha,
    Eric

    • 2 my2fish December 9, 2009 at 9:15 pm

      Eric, thanks for stopping by – “the horse’s mouth” is great, isn’t it?!

      I’m really just trying to get the Sunfish to just weigh less (waterlogged), and using more of my creativity on the trailer and stuff like that. depending on the severity of the ‘Fish’s bloatedness, I might have to crank up my creativity to get her truly seaworthy, and race-worthy, maybe?

      I haven’t bought the Wheel-eez yet, but they do look perfect for making a beach dolly, and the price isn’t too bad either. I just don’t want to drop the cash for some of the fancy custom one beach dollies.

      thanks for the link to your blog – I’ll check it out!

      cheers, my2fish

  2. 3 winjaw December 10, 2009 at 6:10 pm

    Dude:
    Your wife obviously loves you waaaayyyyy too much. Either that or you’ve got her brainwashed with something.

    Seriously, just tie a chainsaw to the mast and use that as your flag – promise cars won’t get to close.

    But kudos to your wife

    Sails Up!

    justflipthedog

    • 4 my2fish December 14, 2009 at 10:13 pm

      justflipthedog – I’m lucky, I guess!

      I might be the one brain-washed, though. instead of refinishing my daggerboards, I’ve been spending a lot of time making a wine/liquor cabinet/sideboard out of solid cherry for her. planing, jointing, biscuits, wood glue, dovetailed drawers… the whole nine yards. I’m up to my ankles in wood shavings from hand-planing the boards nice and smooth, and I think my lungs are about 50% cherry dust at this point.

      and, a chainsaw flapping around in the breeze back there? I don’t think you thought that one too far through… my boat already has enough leaks in it… I don’t need a flapping chainsaw tearing up the back end of it while trailering.

      cheers, my2fish

  3. 5 Tom Nelson March 16, 2016 at 2:40 pm

    Liked the dolly article and the flag idea. With the dolly, It looks like you would have to be bent over to push it along due to the low height. How high is the bow handle when using it.
    About the flag. I believe that the luff could be rolled over and a pocket the size of the rod could be sewn into the flag. On the foot I think a LARGE electrical tie wrap could also slide in a pocket, much like a batten and that would hold the flag out.
    I’m taking my first sailing lessons this summer at Lake Lansing but I find your blog very interesting. Good job.

    • 6 my2fish March 16, 2016 at 2:44 pm

      Tom, thanks for the comments! The dolly ends up being right at normal hand height when I’m walking, so I don’t know that I have to really bend over at all. the trailer flag hasn’t seen much use, honestly – the vibration while trailering down the road fatigue stressed the aluminum rod right at the point where I had drilled a hole for the cotter pin, and I lost it at some point driving down the road! back to the drawing board…

      Lake Lansing is supposed to be great for sailing, with a few clubs there through MSU. I hope you enjoy the lessons, and thanks for reading my blog!


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,325 other followers

my2fish archives

my2fish stats

  • 472,580 hits
Sailing Blogs
Sailing Blogs - Blog Catalog Blog Directory

