sunfish trailer flag – a new option

from my Sunfish trailer flag performance review, you may recall that I lost my bicycle trailer flag after driving maybe only 5 or 10 miles down the road.  I needed to come up with a better option instead of just a thin little 3/8″ rod.  I described how I made the trailer flag here.

so today I tried a new option for my Sunfish trailer flag – an old tennis ball!  I used a utility knife to cut a small slit into the wall of the tennis ball, maybe a 1/2″ long total.  I then just squeezed the tennis ball to open up a small hole, and inserted it onto the 3/8″ aluminum rod.  the small slit still provides a very snug fit.

Img0148_002 trailer flag tennis ball

I trailered the Sunfish about 50 miles round trip today, and the tennis ball option performed spectacularly! the height is just about perfect – centered quite well right in my line of sight when I use the review mirror.

highly recommend it as a short-term solution, or even the final solution!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,330 other followers

my2fish archives

my2fish stats

  • 460,469 hits
Sailing Blogs
Sailing Blogs - Blog Catalog Blog Directory

