14 comments

  1. Interesting…
    “…devoid of the ribbing and seams that is more typical of wooden boats. Peanuts have more in common with fiberglass boats than wooden ones in this respect”

    Like

  2. How funny! My family owned a “Norwegian Peanut” back in the 60’s sailing it on the St. Lawrence River in upstate NY. Ours was sail # 948. I loved that boat, learned to sail on it and various sun/sailfish. Sure wish we still had it.

    Like

    • Allyn, thanks for stopping by and commenting. The Peanut does look like a fun little sailboat to learn on – it is too bad you don’t have it anymore.

      Like

    • Hi there , I actually have a peanut boat #2249 that I want to sell. I’m in Vancouvet bc. I have all the original parts except the oars! I would be interested in knowing how much to ask for it. I would say it’s in good condition . There are a couple of small spots in the back end that have rot but it’s minimal .
      Anne

      Like

      • Anne, I’m afraid I wouldn’t know. your best bet is too watch Craigslist or similar to see what sailboats of that size and condition are selling for in your area. I’m not sure you’ll find much for the Peanut sailboat specifically, but you might be able to watch Sunfish, Lasers, and sailboats like that. maybe even the Snark or Opti sailboats.

        Like

    • Allyn Gifford, I just realized I have your boat from the St Lawrence River. Peanut #948 Reply and I tell you what I know of her history since you had her.

      Look forward to hearing from you,
      Beth

      Like

      • Beth – I’m just seeing this! I’m so happy to hear the old “Peanut” is still seaworthy and bringing joy to all who sail her! I’d love to hear more… I messaged you on FB also, but just returned to this blog post. Thanks for reaching out!!!

        Like

  3. I had a peanut rowboat in the 1960s. It was not set up for sailing but it was such a light and maneuverable craft that I enjoyed it for many summers. I used it on the bays of Osterville, Cape Cod.

    Like

  4. I have 2 Peanuts sold in Germany in the early 1960s. In Germany the dinghy was sold as “Norweger”. you can find more informations in the boat-magazine YACHT 1-1960.

    Like

Leave a comment