peanut sailboat

I saw this neat little sailboat for sale on Craigslist the other day.

peanut sailboat

here is a bit more history on the Peanut sailboat.

10 Responses to “peanut sailboat”


  1. 1 Courtenay March 27, 2013 at 11:11 pm

    Very interesting information and an obscure find! It’s amazing that these boats were sold in the US……….

  2. 2 meech March 28, 2013 at 7:55 am

    Interesting…
    “…devoid of the ribbing and seams that is more typical of wooden boats. Peanuts have more in common with fiberglass boats than wooden ones in this respect”

  3. 3 Allyn Gifford May 13, 2013 at 6:13 pm

    How funny! My family owned a “Norwegian Peanut” back in the 60’s sailing it on the St. Lawrence River in upstate NY. Ours was sail # 948. I loved that boat, learned to sail on it and various sun/sailfish. Sure wish we still had it.

    • 4 my2fish May 14, 2013 at 6:51 am

      Allyn, thanks for stopping by and commenting. The Peanut does look like a fun little sailboat to learn on – it is too bad you don’t have it anymore.

    • 5 Anne December 10, 2015 at 3:16 pm

      Hi there , I actually have a peanut boat #2249 that I want to sell. I’m in Vancouvet bc. I have all the original parts except the oars! I would be interested in knowing how much to ask for it. I would say it’s in good condition . There are a couple of small spots in the back end that have rot but it’s minimal .
      Anne

      • 6 my2fish December 15, 2015 at 12:11 pm

        Anne, I’m afraid I wouldn’t know. your best bet is too watch Craigslist or similar to see what sailboats of that size and condition are selling for in your area. I’m not sure you’ll find much for the Peanut sailboat specifically, but you might be able to watch Sunfish, Lasers, and sailboats like that. maybe even the Snark or Opti sailboats.

    • 7 Beth Bement July 10, 2016 at 7:17 pm

      Allyn Gifford, I just realized I have your boat from the St Lawrence River. Peanut #948 Reply and I tell you what I know of her history since you had her.

      Look forward to hearing from you,
      Beth

      • 8 Allyn Gifford July 11, 2016 at 10:19 am

        Beth – I’m just seeing this! I’m so happy to hear the old “Peanut” is still seaworthy and bringing joy to all who sail her! I’d love to hear more… I messaged you on FB also, but just returned to this blog post. Thanks for reaching out!!!

  4. 9 jimsgarage April 26, 2015 at 9:50 am

    I had a peanut rowboat in the 1960s. It was not set up for sailing but it was such a light and maneuverable craft that I enjoyed it for many summers. I used it on the bays of Osterville, Cape Cod.

  5. 10 Bebronne December 20, 2016 at 4:13 pm

    I have 2 Peanuts sold in Germany in the early 1960s. In Germany the dinghy was sold as “Norweger”. you can find more informations in the boat-magazine YACHT 1-1960.


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,326 other followers

my2fish archives

my2fish stats

  • 465,452 hits
Sailing Blogs
Sailing Blogs - Blog Catalog Blog Directory

