here comes the sun[fish]

it appears that Sir Paul McCartney enjoys sailing, and recently spent that time on a Sunfish!  he’s down in Rio for some concerts, and took a break to go and sail on the Bay Guanabara, near the beach in Urca.

here comes the sun[fish] and I say it’s alright
little darling, it seems like years since it’s been here

I first saw the article over at the Sunfish Forum, that linked to this article (English translation).  both photos are from that article.

________________________________

this post is for tillerman‘s writing project of the month – please please me, with direction to blog about something with a post title using the name of a song by the Beatles, and have it be more or less related to your blog.  after seeing photos of one of the Beatles sailing in a Sunfish, how could I not enter this as my submission?  stop by tillerman‘s blog – Proper Course – for frequent updates from other bloggers who post something about the Beatles.

11 comments

  1. ha! I knew I’d read about Sir Paul and his proclivity for using a Sunfish as a pick-up vehicle somewhere before!

    Personally, TQ & I took a Sunfish out for a short spin together last weekend – and I have to admit that I still think that if we wanted to start doing a lot of sailing together, we might want to think about a bigger boat. It’s technically a 2 person boat, but those 2 people have to like each other very much, and neither of them can be very big! 😀

    Like

    • bonnie – I agree that it’s pretty cramped with 2 people. bottom line – don’t sail with people you don’t like!

      keep me posted if you upgrade to something a bit larger, I’ll be curious what you decide on.

      Like

  2. the sunfish Sir Mccartney is sailing is my boat in Rio de Janeiro! He is a fan of the sunfish boat and when he came to Rio he asked if there were any sunfish in Brazil, since that´s the only boat he sails!

    Best Rgds,

    Like

Leave a comment