swim until you can’t see land [video]

a little off the beaten path from my normal posts, and not specifically sailing related, but they do sing about swimming, so it’s sort of water-related, right?… anyway, here goes:  this is a live, in-studio performance (a WOXY Lounge Act) of the song “Swim Until you Can’t See Land”, a single off the album The Winter of Mixed Drinks, by the Scottish band, Frightened Rabbit, during SXSW 2010, presented by WOXY, probably the coolest (now online only) independent radio station I’ve ever experienced.

the guitarist, Scott, one of the 2 Hutchinson brothers in the band, talks about the song here:

I was becoming more and more interested in the idea of a rejection of the habits and behaviour most people see as normal, and in turn embracing a certain madness. It’s about losing your mind in order to reset the mind and the body. Forget what’s gone before and wash it out. This is not necessarily a geographical journey, as the ‘swim’ can involve any activity in which you can lose yourself.

I first heard Frightened Rabbit from their SXSW 2008 performance, also with WOXY, and fell in love with that Lounge Act session.  I later purchased their album Midnight Organ Fight, which is fantastic.

from 2001 to 2004, WOXY’s over-the-air 97.1 FM out of Oxford, Ohio helped maintain my sanity as I drove 50 miles each way back and forth to work in Cincinnati.  I’ve learned about so many new artists thru WOXY, most that never reach mainstream radio. the WOXY’s Lounge Acts are great as well – I’ve got my iTunes subscribed to the podcasts.

so what do you think?

3 comments

  1. 2Fish,

    Nice song. We must have some of the same tastes.

    Is WOXY based out of Oxford Ohio (being a Miami U. dropout from the 70’s)?

    Like

    • tweezerman, WOXY was originally out of Oxford, Ohio, broadcasting as 97.1 FM. they went online-only about 5 or 6 years ago, maybe. then, about a year ago, they moved down to Austin, Texas. currently, I think they are off-line, and no longer streaming music, as they are having money issues, it seems.

      thanks for stopping by,
      my2fish

      Like

Leave a comment