double fish trailer

Now that I had 2 Sunfish-style boats, I was presented with the opportunity to occasionally take them both out for sailing.  I suppose that I could have tried to car-top one on our  Chevy Tahoe, and trailer the other… but that didn’t particularly appeal to me.. as the car-topping part was what led me to buy Fish #2 and it’s trailer.  trying to scramble and get ready for a camping trip one weekend, I decided to throw together a frame built out of 2x pine lumber that would allow me to stack the 2 ‘Fish on top of each other, without causing damage to either one’s deck, splashguard, etc.

I made a frame using (2) 2×6’s and (2) long 2×4’s.  the frame is about 4′-3″ wide and 6’-0″ long. the (2) 2×6 boards were roughly shaped, top and bottom, to match the deck curvature for my Sunfish (bottom) and my Super Porpoise (on top).  I also threw a couple diagonal 2×4’s in the front corners, which helps keep the frame from racking when I’m lifting it on and off the lower ‘Fish.  I used a few pieces of pipe insulation over the edge of the 2×6’s to keep from scratching the decks.  the previous owner of my Sunfish had made a nice jig out of wood – shaped like a “Y” sort-of, that slides into the daggerboard trunk, and holds the sails/spars – you can see it sticking out up from the daggerboard trunk on the upper boat. he also had another “Y”-shaped bracket mounted at the front, but to make it work I had to make my own quickly to raise the height of the “Y” to work with the double-stacked Fish. the “Y” I made and the older one are interchangeable, though, so I can switch back to his bracket when I transport just the 1 Fish.

here’s a picture of the final result, from June of 2005:

doublefishtrailer

13 comments

  1. This is pretty neat. My dad recently decided to break out his old Hobie Cat that’s been collecting dust in the garage for 15 years or so. He’s been busy putting it together, cleaning it, patching the sails, and refurbishing the old trailer he had for it. Takes a lot of work, but the end result is well worth it!

    Like

  2. alli – q had said that your father was doing that – I hope that he gets it into the water before the summer ends… I’d hate to work all summer getting it ready, and then have to wait a whole winter before he uses it. the hobie cat will be a bit different from my 2 ‘Fish… would be a blast to try though!

    Like

  3. I know, the summer is slipping away. We’re looking forward to taking it out on the water when we go camping up north soon. I’ll let you know if we post some pictures of it (Over Easy is her name).

    Like

  4. I know that this blog was from a long, long time ago, but I am facing the same issues you were. I have 2 Sunfish that I occasionally need to transport at the same time (or spend 3 hours making two trips). I know that you eventually went to a different route, but for very occasional trips how well did your double decker approach work?

    Like

Leave a comment