i bought a shorty wetsuit!

a few days ago, I was talking with my wife about how it might be nice to eventually buy a shorty wetsuit, so I could possibly extend my sailing season (earlier in the spring/later in the fall), as well as maybe sail more often during the summer on a random cold day when the temperatures might keep me from going out.  it was crazy that when I checked me email that night or maybe one or two nights later, I noticed that costco.com was having a sale on a shorty wetsuit – for $39.99 delivered!

here are the specs (from costco.com):

BARE – world famous for fit and comfort, offers a shorty that delivers exceptional quality and design at a great value. This full-featured suit includes GLIDESEAL gaskets on the arms and legs reducing water entry and an adjustable 2mm GLIDESEAL collar. For maximum performance, POWERSTRETCH panels are placed in specific areas of the suit allowing for superior mobility and range of motion.

Features:

  • Colors: Royal blue or red
  • Sizes: Medium, medium/large, large, x-large or xx-large
  • POWERSTRETCH panels for stretch, comfort and durability
  • 2mm body for added warmth
  • 2mm BARESKIN chest plate to shed water and stay warmer
  • GLIDESEAL arms and thighs
  • 2mm adjustable GLIDESEAL collar
  • Heavy-duty back zipper
  • Zipper tab loop at base of zipper for easy donning
  • 100% flat seamed

costco wetsuit

I decided to go ahead and give it a try (if nothing else, costco’s return policy is great – just return it to a local store!), so  I should be getting it any day now!  is it a good deal?  I guess I can’t say for SURE… as I’m no expert on them, but my local sailing shop has shorty wetsuits for $125, and my brother-in-law bought a used shorty wetsuit on ebay a few years ago for about $40… so I’m calling it a good deal for now.  if things don’t work out with it, I’ll be sure to update this post with my complaints.

7 Responses to “i bought a shorty wetsuit!”


  1. 1 Kir July 26, 2009 at 9:59 pm

    I’m definitely looking forward to a picture of you in the suit. 🙂

    • 2 my2fish July 26, 2009 at 11:01 pm

      um… nagga… nagga… na-gonna-happen! just have your hubby wear his (too-tight) one for you! and then try not to envision your much heftier, thicker-in-the-waist bro’ wearing the same thing…. 😦

  2. 3 my2fish July 28, 2009 at 11:58 am

    well, I finally got the wetsuit, and tried it on last night. let me say, this is by FAR, the tightest article of clothing I have probably ever worn in my life… I suppose it is supposed to be, though, so it will take some getting used to. overall, the fit was great though, and I’m looking forward to using it for the 1st time.

  3. 4 Wetsuit February 4, 2010 at 1:04 am

    Hi

    Now i will try for this shorty wetsuit.

    Thanks for your information.

    wetsuit


  1. 1 sailing log: 2010-06-26 « my2fish: a blog about sunfish sailing Trackback on September 8, 2010 at 10:03 pm
  2. 2 sailing log: 2011-09-09 (Lake Michigan) « my2fish: a blog about sunfish sailing Trackback on September 19, 2011 at 8:23 pm
  3. 3 et ego in Arcadia – Sunday « my2fish: a blog about sunfish sailing Trackback on August 23, 2012 at 11:32 am

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,327 other followers

my2fish archives

my2fish stats

  • 466,194 hits
Sailing Blogs
Sailing Blogs - Blog Catalog Blog Directory

