in my spare time

I saw Gail posted this pic on FB and loved it (ok, I stole it). Gail has an incredible passion for sailing, and is involved in several classes of sailing (including iceboating!) and is the Midwest region contact for the Sunfish Class. I met Gail 14 years ago at a Sunfish regional race (she was racing, I was just a spectator and on-the-water photographer) – and we’ve kept in touch via various social media – one of these days, she’ll get me to join in one of the Greater Detroit Sunfish Club races.

4 comments

  1. I am bummed. The Fall sailing weather has been great this year, but I broke some ribs a couple of weeks ago so I don’t get to enjoy it. Oh well, Spring is just 5 months away!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Clyde, oh dear! Broken ribs are awful – I wiped out on my mountain bike last fall – I never got an x-ray, but really messed up my ribs. It took several months before it fell back to normal. Hopefully you’re all healed up for early spring sailing!

      Like

  2. Awesome, I don’t sail nearly enough because I keep my boat at my Summer Place , but I can relate about thinking about it all year long. I’m going out racing with some friends tomorrow on Carlyle lake in Illinois on a j29, and sometimes although it’s definitely fantastic, I can hear Yoda’s voice in my mind whispering. ‘Ha! Jib, cunningham, vang, a sunfish sailor crave these things does not. Use the wind. Powerful ally it is.’ 😄
    I joke, but I definitely feel l’m always learning small techniques while on the big boat that I want to use on the little boat. At the same time I do plan to learn to sail the medium-sized boats in time so… learning always one is.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’ve never sailed on a larger boat than Sunfish sized – I’m jealous of your trip on the J29! Hope you enjoy it and hope we can both get out more next year.

      Like

Leave a comment