it’s a Hobie affair

something is amiss.

I think that maybe, just maybe, the skipper of Sunfish 3929 is having a bad influence on me.

he keeps cheating on 3929 with a big ol’ Flying Scot.

and now I’ve gone and sailed a a non-Sunfish sailboat.

that’s right: I sailed a Hobie Wave.

I just let the boat do the work.

 

I haven’t even sailed my Sunfish a single time this year.  we’ve been too busy, yadda, yadda, yadda (I’m good at making excuses…).

it was my first time on a boat with 2 hulls.  first time on a sailboat that wasn’t a Sunfish (or smaller).

and I liked it.

the water was warm, winds were decent, the location was spectacularly beautiful – perfect conditions to sail comfortably, but not risk tipping the Hobie, particularly since I had guests!

that’s right: 3 girls (women, really… my wife and 2 of my friends’ wives) fit more than comfortably with me on the Hobie.  I can’t say that could ever happen on my Sunfish.  well, you could try it, but it would be quite cramped, and make sailing difficult!

I could go into more detail about the other Hobie that (tried?) sailing at the same time as us, but that’s another story for another day.

should my Sunfish be jealous?

 

 

 

8 Responses to “it’s a Hobie affair”


  1. 1 Tillerman August 3, 2017 at 8:56 pm

    Where are you sailing the Hobie Wave?

    Most of the last few winters, my wife and I have spent a week or so at a resort in the BVI. They have a lot of different boats there (including Lasers and Sunfish) but my favorite is the Hobie Wave. I sail it singlehanded a lot but my wife often comes with me on the Wave too – whereas she will rarely sail a conventional two man dinghy with me.

    • 2 my2fish August 3, 2017 at 8:58 pm

      Tillerman – it was last week, we vacationed at a resort south of Cancun, Mexico. I was hoping they would have a Sunfish or Laser but no sign of any. the Hobie Wave was great, though – I would have enjoyed trying to solo sail it, but never got a chance.

  2. 3 reefwarriors/Lou August 4, 2017 at 6:03 am

    Once you go Hobie you never go back.
    I have 2 hobie 16’s 1 hobie 18, a hobie 14 I borrow quite often and a hobie paddle board.

    Yes, your sunfish should be jealous, very jealous!

  3. 5 P August 8, 2017 at 1:40 pm

    I have 2 fish and a Hobie Getaway. The Getaway got a lot of attention the past two years as it was new but it has been all fish this summer. I think your fish will buy up with the temporary fling.


  1. 1 my 1st sunfish (a newer picture) | my2fish: a blog about sunfish sailing Trackback on August 8, 2017 at 6:24 pm

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,327 other followers

my2fish archives

my2fish stats

  • 466,100 hits
Sailing Blogs
Sailing Blogs - Blog Catalog Blog Directory

