laser foiling [video]

pretty cool video of a Laser foiling, with mixed in British humorous trash-talking between John Leach from Laser Performance and Harry Blowers from the British Sailing Team.

if Lasers can foil now, is there still a need for the newer RS Aeros and Melges 14 sailboats?

via @britishsailing

7 Responses to “laser foiling [video]”


  1. 1 JP March 3, 2017 at 3:29 pm

    Fab – love it! Of course the answer is to foil the Aero, surely, but maybe Tillerman can answer this one for us.

  2. 2 Tillerman March 5, 2017 at 6:48 pm

    Peter Stephinson who developed the foiling kit for the Laser has also produced a version for the RS Aero. He was demonstrating it at the RS AeroCup at Malcesine on Lake Garda last September.

    Here is an album of the RS Aero foiling on Lake Garda.

  3. 3 Tillerman March 5, 2017 at 6:53 pm

    Peter is a good guy and I enjoyed meeting him in Italy. I wish him well with his business but I can’t personally say I am interested in adding foils to my Laser or RS Aero. If I wanted to get into foiling I would probably buy a UFO from Dave Clark at Fulcrum Speedworks.

  4. 5 Jane Lurie March 5, 2017 at 6:53 pm

    This reminds me of watching the America’s Cup in SF a few years ago! They were a wee bit larger. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,325 other followers

my2fish archives

my2fish stats

  • 456,303 hits
Sailing Blogs
Sailing Blogs - Blog Catalog Blog Directory

