what’s your story?

sunfish story VW

I’ve got a whole blog about my journey with the ‘Fishes – what is YOUR story?

13 Responses to “what’s your story?”


  1. 2 my2fish January 24, 2014 at 10:22 am

    Tillerman, very nice! I think I’m familiar with a chicken gybe, although didn’t know it had a name.

  2. 3 baydog January 24, 2014 at 5:54 pm

    Before I ever had my Lasers, my Dad bought me and my Brother a Sunfish. One day after sailing, I was apparently feeling lazy and I didn’t put the boat away properly, according to Dad’s standards. The next day when I went down to the dock, the boat was gone! After shitting my pants for a few hours, I was read the riot act, and eventually the Sunfish re-appeared. Things like that stick with you for a long time. It’s all about respect for your belongings. Lesson learned and remembered.

  3. 5 bookbooster January 26, 2014 at 10:22 am

    As a younger sister my story is the glorious memory of my triumph over my older brother and cousin. Family legend is they claimed to sight a shark off Panama City Beach while sailing our Minifish in Florida and had a comically messy landing. Meanwhile, this underestimated girl had a smooth sail and an even smoother landing… showing that grace in the waves has no age or gender, just the right skill for handling a beloved boat, sharks or not 😉

  4. 7 mycsunfish January 26, 2014 at 4:17 pm

    Wait a minute Tillerman,

    You have a Sunfish, and yet I’ve not seen you at MYC or Barrington!?
    hmmm, must fix that.

    Two years ago, at the MYC regatta, it was blowing about 30. The RC had set a box course, and the last outside leg was in a narrow area between a large ledge and the shore, and at the bottom of the leg was a gybe to a reaching finish. I made it to the last leg, and tried a chicken gybe but just rounded up and capsized instead. I swam to the front of the boat, dragged the bow over so the sail would come up properly gybed, climbed back on and finished the race. I came in 1st, only because I was the only one to successfully make it to the finish line.

    • 8 my2fish January 27, 2014 at 10:19 am

      great story MYCSunfish!

    • 9 Tillerman March 7, 2014 at 12:17 pm

      MycSunfish. No, I don’t have a Sunfish. When I lived in northern NJ I had a Sunfish because that was what everyone sailed in that area. There was even a fleet that raced every Sunday on the lake just across the road from my house. A very good fleet. And there was a very competitive Sunfish series around different lakes in the spring and fall. I also did various other Sunfish regattas including midwinters, NAs and Worlds a few times.

      But when I moved to RI in 2007 I sold my Sunfish to focus on the Laser, which I sailed in England before I moved to NJ.

      I have sailed at MYC. Check out who won the MYC Laser regatta in the Spring of 2008. And I have also sailed in the past at Barrington in both Sunfish and Lasers, although not in your Sunfish frostbite fleet.

  5. 10 Kevin February 7, 2014 at 3:00 pm

    We spend a week each summer in late June/early July in Ontario with friends – on their family’s property at the end of a lake. The owners have 2 Sunfish as well as an Alden wooden frostbite dinghy. I learned to sail on the Sunfish. Several families on the lake hold a fun regatta around Canada Day (7/1) – start here, down around that island, down around that island and back. They use a handicap system to even out the various boats. There is a picnic later and fun prizes awarded. I’ve proudly developed from floundering to mostly competent on the course over the years. A few years ago I managed to negotiate the dead zone on the leeward side and rounded the last island in the lead. I sailed with a full sail to the center of the lake near the finish line. I luffed the sails to stop and chat with friends who paddled out to watch, then tacked back and forth past the finish line watching the rest of the race and waiting for my friend to finish. As he approached, I headed up to pick up speed and sail back to the boat house across the lake. I traveled just a few feet and heard two air horn blasts – the marshal sounds one when a boat crosses the finish line. At that moment I realized that I didn’t hear that sound when I “crossed” minutes earlier. I soon realized that I had used the wrong flag pole across the lake as the finish line indicator, and had been luffing and tacking just feet from finishing for the last several minutes. One of those horn blasts was for me! I recall the margin of victory was merely a few seconds, but as I sit here, I can’t recall if I was still first, or if I finished second to my friend. It was a lesson learned either way.

    • 11 my2fish February 7, 2014 at 3:02 pm

      Kevin, great story! I still haven’t raced yet, but that sounds like a fun one to try.

      • 12 Kevin February 7, 2014 at 3:21 pm

        Do you have a sailing club nearby? If so – check it out. I joined a local club last year near me on an inland lake in Western PA. I did the last race of the year with them – my first “real” race. My new to me Sunfish wasn’t quite ready for the water, so I borrowed one of the club’s Sunfish. I think we had 5 fish on the course – 2 regular racers and us 3 novices. The club does learn to sail days, and also learn to race days, specifically geared towards basic racing skills (how to start, the different courses, etc.). I took a “cheat sheet” out with me with the possible course layouts and codes in case I got confused about what the committee boat had up on the board before the race. I won’t make every race this year, but I plan to do a few. It’s fun to sail past someone and watch them wonder where you are getting wind that they can’t find. Being passed by someone who has wind and you don’t, on the other hand….

      • 13 my2fish February 7, 2014 at 3:29 pm

        Kevin, again great to hear your thoughts! I do have a local club that travels around to several lakes in the Metro Detroit area – I just haven’t made it a priority to meet up with them the days they are racing. I will need to give it a chance, though.


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,317 other followers

my2fish archives

my2fish stats

  • 452,500 hits
Sailing Blogs
Sailing Blogs - Blog Catalog Blog Directory

