planning for boat storage

so as work is progressing along on my barn, I’ve been brain-storming the best way to store a few Sunfish, or similarly sized boats along one section of the wall. this is my current concept:

20140113-200354.jpg
I’ll shape some 2×6 boards to match the deck surface of the sailboat. small knee braces will provide support for the upper boats. the little circles represent the booms and sail. maybe I’ll have a hook or two to hold the booms and sail there.

thoughts? any better ideas?

6 Responses to “planning for boat storage”


  1. 1 Sundude Sunfunfish January 13, 2014 at 10:28 pm

    …may not be a BETTER idea; but what about just leaning them against the wall, stern down: bow up. Would that take less space, while being easier?

    By that I mean this: consider 3 boats, each with a stern foot print on the floor of about 4 feet in width – total “wall-length” for all three, therefore, is12 feet (as opposed to the hull length of about 15 when they are stacked on top of each other, as in the drawing you provided).

    By leaning vs. stacking the boats, they extend out a shorter distance from the wall – in fact, they protrude by only their respective freeboard thickness of about 7 inches, as opposed to the approx. 4 feet of beam, which would be the case if they were stacked.

    A bonus is that the cost for leaning is ‘nil’. Couple that with no energy expended for construction – not to mention the flexibility for use of space during the Summer season when the boats are in the water and not in the barn – well, you may have a winner.

  2. 2 Tillerman January 14, 2014 at 7:43 am

    I think Sundude has a good point. And stern down is how they store the boats in the factory as I recall, and when transporting them in containers.

  3. 3 Tillerman January 14, 2014 at 7:45 am

    If the space has the height of course. Your vertical measurement are so precise I wonder if that’s all you have?

  4. 4 my2fish January 14, 2014 at 8:46 am

    Sundude and Tillerman – I hadn’t even thought of that as an option. my ceiling height in the barn is only 10′-9″, so that is a bit short… but I might be able to squeeze the boat up vertically between the trusses, and stand them up like that. certainly worth considering as an option! thanks.

  5. 5 max January 14, 2014 at 2:10 pm

    Timely post I’m trying to work out storage for the new kayaks, I thought about hoisting them to the ceiling to keep floor space clear but your rack looks a neat idea. Vertical probably not good for a kayak.

    • 6 my2fish January 14, 2014 at 2:49 pm

      max, I did think my idea would work well for a canoe or kayak as well. I’m not convinced I want to stand them up vertically just yet. I’ll be sure to take pictures of whatever system I do build and use, though.


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,327 other followers

my2fish archives

my2fish stats

  • 473,835 hits
Sailing Blogs
Sailing Blogs - Blog Catalog Blog Directory

