the icefish

up in the cold weather states, sailors have found a way to play in the wind throughout the year – by making and sailing on iceboats.  these are sailboats that skate across the frozen water, often at incredible speeds.  I found this great picture of a crude iceboat – a “Cheapskate” – that is using an old Sunfish sail.

icefish

photo via Chickawaukie Ice Boat Club

see more information here.

4 Responses to “the icefish”


    • 2 my2fish December 18, 2013 at 1:37 pm

      baydog – agreed. I’ve seen some of the DN iceboats selling for lots of thousands of dollars. I kind of like the DIY/build your own approach myself.

      maybe after I finish my barn….

  1. 3 Patrick Maher January 3, 2014 at 9:59 am

    I’ve always wanted to build one of these and give this type of sailing a try…


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,317 other followers

my2fish archives

my2fish stats

  • 452,412 hits
Sailing Blogs
Sailing Blogs - Blog Catalog Blog Directory

