sailing log 2013-07-28: Lake Erie

just a quick post: took the Sunfish out for a short sail this afternoon on Lake Erie – it was a blast!  strong winds from the south/south-west meant I could zip up and down along the beach, bouncing up and over waves when I was heading south, and surfing on the tops of waves when I turned around and headed back north.

here is a screenshot from my GoPro video camera:

lake erie gopro

will post more details later.

10 Responses to “sailing log 2013-07-28: Lake Erie”


  1. 1 Tillerman (@ProperCourse) July 28, 2013 at 4:50 pm

    What is that knot in the foreground? Looks like it could be the rarely seen triple buntline carrick bend double surgeon’s clinch knot?

  2. 3 T.J. July 28, 2013 at 6:53 pm

    I am jealous,over the fourth of July weekend I rediscovered The Sunfish at a friends lake house, I hadn’t sailed one since boy scout camp in 83 I had so much fun I started looking for one as soon as I got home. I found one that needs some TLC and hope to pick it up next weekend, I enjoy your site especially the tech tips. T.J.

  3. 5 T.J. July 28, 2013 at 9:17 pm

    Thanks for the welcome ! I am always looking for things to do with my Kids,I hope they like it as much as I do. I work a lot with cranes at work and have always enjoyed setting up the rigging for different picks, I really like your mainsheet set up its elegantly simple , less things involved means less things to go wrong !

  4. 6 capnrehab July 31, 2013 at 11:29 am

    Great pic! Thanks for sharing it.

  5. 7 Andrew September 8, 2014 at 3:55 pm

    Hi, How do teh folks at the State park feel about you launching the boat on the beach ? When I called i was told it isn’t allowed…

    • 8 my2fish September 8, 2014 at 4:02 pm

      Andrew, not sure, I’ve never talked to them or been yelled at for doing it!

      • 9 Andrew September 8, 2014 at 7:29 pm

        OK Thanks. I live close by and have been thinking to get a sailboat (Hobie or such) for the lake, and I wouldn’t mind having to launch and power around to the beach, but the ability to beach between sailings, and to drop off the motor would be nice…

      • 10 my2fish September 8, 2014 at 7:31 pm

        You could always try it out and act innocent if they were to yell at you! And if they don’t, you get to sail!


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,325 other followers

my2fish archives

my2fish stats

  • 456,348 hits
Sailing Blogs
Sailing Blogs - Blog Catalog Blog Directory

