building Lasers: a labor of love

this is an amazing video that shows the step-by-step process that goes into making a Laser sailboat at the Laser Performance factory in Long Buckby, UK.  there is a lot of hand work, with not much automation — it is an incredible process.

HT: @LaserPerform

4 Responses to “building Lasers: a labor of love”


  1. 1 Baydog April 5, 2013 at 11:22 pm

    No wonder they cost seven thousand dollars. I wonder if that much teamwork and care went into my 802 and 49264………….

    • 2 my2fish April 6, 2013 at 2:54 am

      that’s the UK factory, so it would be pounds. I don’t know the history of the Laser production, but I’m pretty sure the 802 wasn’t built by Laser Performance!

  2. 3 Tillerman (@ProperCourse) April 6, 2013 at 8:22 am

    Judging by the way my 18 year-old Laser hull (which has been sailed hard every one of those years) is still holding up I would say that a) it probably was made with much care and attention to detail and b) it has been worth every penny I pad for it.

    • 4 my2fish April 6, 2013 at 7:51 pm

      well said, T-man. it is amazing how well those thin fiberglass hulls can withstand years of use (and misuse and abuse) but still keep on sailing!


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,325 other followers

my2fish archives

my2fish stats

  • 472,775 hits
Sailing Blogs
Sailing Blogs - Blog Catalog Blog Directory

