et ego in Arcadia – Monday

here is a summary of the second main day from our week vacation up at Camp Arcadia. on the weekdays during the Family Weeks at Camp Arcadia, each morning has a short Bible study for the adults, and classes for the children – split up into manageable age groups for the Camp staff – basically like a vacation Bible school, with some sports and games mixed in as well for the kids classes.  after Monday morning’s classes, my boys immediately wanted to head over to the archery range.

the Camp has a neat little archery range set up out in the woods: there is about 5 or 6 straw mats with paper bulls-eye targets attached to them, and then old garden hose spiked down to the ground to set different shooting distances.  the Camp has a varied selection of recurve wooden bows with different pull weights, so the kids (or adults) can choose a bow that they can shoot.  an instructor helps the kids get ready, and uses a whistle to give out commands – all in all, pretty well planned out.  my boys loved it, and went back to the archery range several more times the rest of the week.

after lunch, my brother-in-law and I went sailing again.  this time, the wind had picked up a bit – my Wind Meter app on my iPhone said it was about 13 knots. the waters of Lake Michigan were still fairly calm, though, so not too big of waves with the decent wind.  sailing was great, as we could move pretty quickly across the water.   it was a bit cooler and cloudy that day, so the rest of the kids were busy with other stuff around Camp, so it was just my brother-in-law and I messing about on the water.

I sailed for a while in my Sunfish, and he was in his Snark sailboat, and then we switched boats for a while as well.  here’s a screenshot from the video from my GoPro camera – my brother-in-law is sailing my Sunfish, and I’m horsing around in his Snark sailboat in the background… trying to keep my body completely flat stretched out across the 2 sides of the boats without my butt sitting down in the boat.

after sailing I took my 2 older boys and 2 of their cousins out into the woods for the Capture the Flag game. the game is held out in the back woods of the Camp’s property, where you can see rows and rows of pine trees,  planted by Michigan’s Civilian Conservation Corps that was created by Roosevelt during the Great Depression.

the Camp staff used blue or red paint to decorate the faces of the 2 teams, Braveheart style – all 4 of my crew were on the red team.

later on that evening, we had some time just milling around on the beach and the playgrounds.

Monday evening’s main event is the Square Dance, held out on the tennis courts.  the Camp staff instructs everyone on the steps for whatever dance we are doing, and calls out most of the steps during each song as well.  it helps that many campers have done these same dances for years – and it’s usually a good mix of experienced “pro’s” and the 1st-timers as well, plus always a bunch of children having fun learning the square dances, too.

there are some silly ones – the Chicken Dance and the Hokey Pokey, but also the Virginia Reel and the Two-Step as well.  they save the best 2 songs for last – the Amos Moses and the Prima Donna (but I’m not sure of the dance names).  I got this pretty cute video of my youngest son and one of his cousins dancing together while the rest of the campers were dancing to the Virginia Reel.

if you missed the post from Sunday at Camp, you can read it here.  more days to follow.

0 Responses to “et ego in Arcadia – Monday”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,325 other followers

my2fish archives

my2fish stats

  • 472,775 hits
Sailing Blogs
Sailing Blogs - Blog Catalog Blog Directory

