sailing with a snark

my brother-in-law and I sailed a while in 10 to 13 knot winds on Lake Michigan yesterday. he sailed most of the time on his Snark sailboat, and me on my Sunfish — but we did switch boats for a little while.

20120814-110027.jpg
it was a great afternoon on the water, not too large of waves to deal with, but a nice steady breeze to sail out and about on Lake Michigan.

I had my GoPro video camera mounted out on the end of the lower boom, but didn’t get a chance to turn it on when I first started sailing. I decided to try to turn it on a couple hundred yards off the shoreline. I turned into the wind and sat in irons and scooted my butt back to the very back of the boat. I tried to lean out, stretching my arm out to hit the buttons to turn it on.

and I fell right off the back of the boat, into the crazy cold water. luckily the boat didn’t tip and I was able to jump back on and sail back in towards shore to then turn on the GoPro.

I got some great video, so I’ll hopefully be able to start editing that down in the next few weeks.

6 Responses to “sailing with a snark”


  1. 1 Tillerman August 14, 2012 at 10:24 am

    You would think they would make that camera with a remote control!

  2. 5 Tillerman August 14, 2012 at 12:27 pm

    You are correct. There is a remote control option (which I think is waterproof.) It would be handy to be able to turn the camera on and off without doing what you did, or crawling up to the bow, or climbing the mast.


  1. 1 underestimating the power of the waves « my2fish: a blog about sunfish sailing Trackback on September 12, 2012 at 8:15 am

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,318 other followers

my2fish archives

my2fish stats

  • 469,137 hits
Sailing Blogs
Sailing Blogs - Blog Catalog Blog Directory

