stand up Sunfish sailing

for those times when paddling sounds like it is going to be a whole lot of work, and you feel like just being lazy and letting the wind do all the work –  there is always stand up Sunfish sailing (SUSS).

12 Responses to “stand up Sunfish sailing”


  1. 1 meech June 22, 2012 at 10:03 pm

    You can get another 8″ higher!

  2. 3 capnrehab June 23, 2012 at 10:35 am

    That’s a couple of pretty green stripes you have on there. Are they significant or just decorative?
    Also, It looks like your tiller is sitting on the deck. Do you have anything on it to prevent it scraping. The some sunfish at our club have an ugly half circle scraped in them from the tiller. I’d like to prevent that on mine once I get it painted.

    • 4 my2fish June 23, 2012 at 11:33 am

      capnrehab – like many things in life, the stripes are beautiful from 10 or 12 feet away. up close, they are fairly faded. when I bought it, there were 2 thin blue stripes running on the green – but they were a stick-on vinyl striping, and the sun had degraded them partly, and so I pulled them off.

      yeah, I just rebuilt the tiller, and just copied the hole pattern from the old one – and it does rub on the deck. this particular sailing trip, I took the strap I have to keep my glasses on – it has little foam pieces on it, and after tieing it to the tiller, it kept the tiller from rubbing on the deck. I might just find a piece of foam or something to put on the bottom of the tiller to keep it from rubbing.

      • 5 capnrehab June 23, 2012 at 11:36 am

        Thanks, I’ll try something like that for my tiller (once I get it back on the boat!) I may just skip any decorative painting.

      • 6 my2fish June 23, 2012 at 11:38 am

        I’ve only noticed it with my newer Sunfish – I think the older one (mid-1960’s) has a lower curve to the top deck.

        or maybe the rudder bracket was mounted a little higher on it, so I never noticed an issue with the tiller rubbing.

      • 7 capnrehab June 23, 2012 at 11:50 am

        Hmmm. Mine is a 1976 bicentennial edition. Not sure if that classifies as “Older”. I think after I go through the trouble of painting, I’m going to make darn sure I avoid any scrapes I can. Will definitely add a tiller scrape pad!

      • 8 my2fish June 23, 2012 at 11:51 am

        Sounds like a wise decision.

  3. 9 capnrehab June 23, 2012 at 10:36 am

    As I clicked post I realized I didn’t click “Notify me of follow up comments”. (This time I clicked it) ;^)

  4. 10 Claire June 26, 2012 at 1:55 pm

    Nice one! I am gonna try it 🙂


  1. 1 stand up Sunfish sailing « my2fish: a blog about sunfish sailing | Sailing Times Trackback on June 23, 2012 at 10:33 pm
  2. 2 SUP sunfish | my2fish: a blog about sunfish sailing Trackback on May 10, 2016 at 7:18 am

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,308 other followers

recently tweeted @my2fish

my2fish archives

my2fish stats

  • 449,276 hits
Sailing Blogs
Sailing Blogs - Blog Catalog Blog Directory

