new carpet padding for sunfish PVC dolly

over the last couple years, the pipe insulation that I had used as padding on my home-made Sunfish PVC dolly has been wearing down due to use, and some of it was about ready to fall off. I didn’t want the bare PVC to be rubbing against the bottom of my Sunfish sailboat, so knew that I needed to replace and/or improve the padding for the PVC dolly.

I bought some new pipe insulation at the hardware store – this time instead of the foam pipe insulation, I bought some that appears to be more like a rubber (?) material.  on top of that insulation, I also added some scraps of trailer bunk carpet.

similar to before, I used double zip-ties spaced pretty frequently to hold everything down onto the top “bunks” of the Sunfish PVC dolly.

the new insulation will act as padding, and the new carpet covering should hold up very well, and hopefully last quite a bit longer this time.

 

0 Responses to “new carpet padding for sunfish PVC dolly”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,308 other followers

recently tweeted @my2fish

my2fish archives

my2fish stats

  • 449,305 hits
Sailing Blogs
Sailing Blogs - Blog Catalog Blog Directory

