morels

my wife and I walked through some woods yesterday with my folks.  I was mildly curious when my dad grabbed a long wooden pole and a bucket out of his car – so I asked their meaning.

the pole? – that’s for snakes, he said. [note: my dad does NOT like snakes.]

the bucket? – that’s for mushrooms.

I’ll admit – in my years growing up at home, where we had about 20 acres of land, and most of it was woods – I think I can remember only finding a handful of morel mushrooms in that whole time.  yet morel mushrooms are a hot commodity in Michigan – some people have closely guarded secret morel mushroom hunting grounds, where they can find them growing in the spring by the bushel.  there is even a town up in northern Michigan that has an Annual Mesick Mushroom Festival that starts in a few weeks.

so yesterday we took a long hike through the woods to the back of the property, and just a short while after we had turned around to head back, I heard an excited cry: “I found one!”

as he bent down to grab it, I heard: “oh look, there’s a bunch of them!”  all four of us then scoured the ground until we had a whole bunch of them in our bucket!  and we found them all in that one little area, even though we kept “our eyes peeled” for the rest of our hike.

that night, my wife sauteed some of them in butter, and she said they were great.  (I was at soccer practice with my son, so haven’t tried them yet!)

4 Responses to “morels”


  1. 1 Baydog April 19, 2012 at 7:59 pm

    How do you know there are any left? Gorgeous fungus. A delicacy of delicacies. Springtime defined. I’ll be there in the morning. Should I bring some asparagus and peas? Holy crap

    • 2 my2fish April 19, 2012 at 9:05 pm

      I had a few tonight they were great. My wife said our 4-yr old ate most of them last night!

      My dad meant to bring us some fresh asparagus from his garden – that would have been a great combination.

  2. 3 Baydog April 19, 2012 at 10:23 pm

    If you came across a bunch of them, you could knock on the back door of any fine restaurant in the area and walk away with some good cash.

    • 4 my2fish April 20, 2012 at 6:11 am

      interesting. I have always heard “morels are worth a lot of money” and “people will pay good money for them” – but have never been sure how you find a buyer. the fine restaurant is a great idea.

      and quite frankly, we have never found that many anyway to worry about having to sell some!


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,325 other followers

my2fish archives

my2fish stats

  • 456,348 hits
Sailing Blogs
Sailing Blogs - Blog Catalog Blog Directory

