On the Shores of the Great Lakes

this is a pretty sweet video showing off Michigan’s great natural resource – the Great Lakes – and the miles of coastline and beaches we have in our state.  it also highlights the Sleeping Bear Dunes, a 450-foot high sand dune in the northwest corner of Michigan’s lower peninsula.

HT: The Freshwater Fly

5 Responses to “On the Shores of the Great Lakes”


  1. 1 Baydog April 17, 2012 at 10:57 pm

    A signature of time and eternity. I’ve never been anywhere close to Michigan, but if I ever get the chance, I want to go there.

    • 2 my2fish April 18, 2012 at 8:34 am

      well now I don’t feel as bad about only being to New Jersey once!

      that area of Michigan is gorgeous. I haven’t been to Sleeping Bear Dunes in a while, but our normal vacation area is only 45 minutes or so south of there. the sand dune there isn’t quite as high or massive, but the views from the top are breathtaking, and the run down in the sand is a blast.

      the last time I climbed the dune (so maybe 300 feet above Lake Michigan), we saw a bald eagle soaring another 75 or 100 feet above us, calmly drifting on the thermals as he soared above the coast. it was amazing.

      if you ever make a trip out here, I can be your tour guide. I don’t think my cooking will meet your normal standards, though!

  2. 3 SailFarLiveFree.com April 18, 2012 at 10:22 am

    Michigan and the Great Lakes are truly an underrated area for sailing and cruising. Perhaps it’s because of the short season or the lack of dolphins. Thanks for sharing the video!


  1. 1 running down south bluff « my2fish: a blog about sunfish sailing Trackback on June 22, 2012 at 8:49 pm

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,327 other followers

my2fish archives

my2fish stats

  • 473,870 hits
Sailing Blogs
Sailing Blogs - Blog Catalog Blog Directory

