california roll

sorry Baydog, this post and video aren’t going to be about sushi.

The “California roll”, per 49208 on the Laser Forum:

…is to accept the fact that the boat will capsize again to leeward after righting, right the boat without worrying about the boom position, but hang onto the daggerboard as the boat rights itself and capsizes again – yes go underwater during this process, but when the second capsize occurs, you are already on the board and it’s really quick to right the boat from there and hop in.

HT: @thesailinglife

7 Responses to “california roll”


  1. 1 Baydog March 5, 2012 at 8:28 pm

    You tricked me, My 2 Sashimis!

    • 2 my2fish March 5, 2012 at 9:49 pm

      pierced meat? never been called that one before.

      I’ve got a nice picture of sushi dinner from a few weekends ago – I’ll have to post that here soon.

  2. 3 tillerman March 6, 2012 at 10:38 am

    Wonderful! I have often been told about the legendary California Roll but I have never seen one done, on video or in real life, before. Last year a coach told me that he couldn’t believe I had been sailing a Laser for 30 years and had never done one.

    Perhaps I should make it one of my goals for 2012?

  3. 5 tillerman March 7, 2012 at 10:37 am

    The main reason I’ve never attempted a California Roll) is that, when sailing, I always wear a hat (to protect my bald head from the sun) and prescription sunglasses (to protect my eyes from the sun.) I would probably lose both doing a California Roll. But maybe one day this summer I will go out for a few minutes without hat and glasses and give it a go. Of course, without glasses I won’t be able to see a thing so may never find my way back to the beach.

    • 6 my2fish March 7, 2012 at 10:49 am

      Tillerman – those are good points. I don’t wear a hat normally, but do wear prescription glasses or sunglasses. I have one of those annoying strings that can attach to the glasses and my life jacket, but I’m not sure I’d trust that during a California roll.


  1. 1 plate of sushi for baydog « my2fish: a blog about sunfish sailing Trackback on March 7, 2012 at 7:33 pm

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,327 other followers

my2fish archives

my2fish stats

  • 473,845 hits
Sailing Blogs
Sailing Blogs - Blog Catalog Blog Directory

