toronto day 2: Ontario Science Center

I previously covered our train ride to Toronto and The National concert from day 1.  on the morning of day 2 in Toronto, we set off to find some delicious breakfast.  my wife and I had visited Toronto 2 years ago for a conference for my job, and had eaten at a nice place on the east side of the Eaton Center (a GIGANTIC mall in downtown Toronto – that we mostly avoided)  – I had a general idea where it was so we set off to walk there.

it was right where I thought it would be on Yonge Street – a nice little place called eggspectations.  their breakfast is phenomenal, but a TON of food.  I ordered the eggs benedict – and it was delicious.

after that deluxe breakfast, we walked up to Yonge and Dundas to grab the subway.  we took the subway several stops north to Eglington, where we made a transfer to the east-bound bus (#34) to go about 5km to our stop for the Ontario Science Centre.

Toronto’s mass transit system is quite amazing – very efficient and easy to get around all over downtown and the surrounding area, with reasonable rates and day passes that allowed unlimited travel on the subway, the buses and the streetcars.  it makes me very frustrated to come home to Detroit’s sad People Mover and dwindling bus system.  anyway, here’s my oldest son sitting near my parents on the subway ride.

my youngest son (3 1/2 yrs old) absolutely loved all the train/subway/bus riding.

after getting off the bus, it was a short walk to the Ontario Science Centre. we spent several hours there – the boys absolutely loved it, and all the hands-on activities kept them really occupied.  here is my oldest son trying to maneuver the moon rover in the Space/Planetarium exhibit.

he also modeled the astronaut uniform for me, complete with showing off a rolled tongue.

the boys had the most fun in the KidSpark, but they were running around to all the things to see so fast, I didn’t take many pictures.  here’s one of them re-building a fort with foam blocks – they worked nicely as a team to build the round pillars.

after taking the bus and subway back to downtown, we headed to the hotel to relax a bit.  we were all pretty full still from the huge breakfast, so we just grabbed some light snacks from a nearby market to tide us over until dinner.  we took the boys down to the swimming pool and hot tub (or hop tub, as my 3 1/2 yr old calls it) for a little bit, and then got ready to head back out for a later dinner.

my dad had done a little research, and suggested we walk a few blocks to a couple British pubs – the Queen & Beaver or the Wolf & Firkin.  both sounded interesting, but we decided to try out the Wolf & Firkin. I did a bit of digging… apparently a firkin is an old English unit of volume, often for a quarter barrel of beer or ale.

it was a nice little pub, and I chose the fish and chips for my entree.

my wife also wanted to try something unique, so she ordered the “bangers and mash” – a plate of mashed potatoes, baked beans, and sausage.

all the food was delicious, and with once again full stomachs, we headed back to our hotel for the evening, and to get ready for the next day of sightseeing, and then our train ride home.

 

 

5 Responses to “toronto day 2: Ontario Science Center”


  1. 1 Baydog December 18, 2011 at 6:37 pm

    It’s essential that you and your wife make sure to do plenty of kid-friendly things during the trip. It cuts down considerably on the whining and bickering.

    I’m a sucker for batter-fried fish and also sauce made from egg yolks poured over more egg yolks. So firkin good! My cardiologist may not agree.

    i applaud your total disregard for starting a sentence with a capital letter.

  2. 3 Melissa December 22, 2011 at 12:48 pm

    I love Toronto as well! What a fun trip for you guys 🙂 Hope to see you all @ Todd’s.


  1. 1 toronto day 3: CN Tower & Harbourfront « my2fish: a blog about sunfish sailing Trackback on December 23, 2011 at 3:14 pm

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,327 other followers

my2fish archives

my2fish stats

  • 466,105 hits
Sailing Blogs
Sailing Blogs - Blog Catalog Blog Directory

