climbing the ladder

over Thanksgiving weekend at my folks house, my oldest son got a little life lesson – climbing the ladder doesn’t always lead any where.

actually, my father needed a new string attached to the pulley at the top of his flagpole (you can just see the flagpole next to my son’s right leg), so that we could fly a Michigan State flag that weekend.  my dad, my brother-in-law and I held the ladder almost straight up and steadied it so that my son could climb up and replace the rope at the top.

Thanksgiving weekend was like the previous weekends this November – quite warm for this time of year, so we spent some time outdoors – with the cousins playing in my folks yard, and my wife and mother finding grapevines and the like to make some fall/winter themed crafty house decorations.  and as usual, we had several amazing meals with large quantities of food – and this year’s turkey was amazing!  my father used a brine solution on the turkey, and the white meat was much juicier than usual.  my sister made these cute little walnut sailboat namecards for the main Thanksgiving meal.

2 Responses to “climbing the ladder”


  1. 1 Baydog December 2, 2011 at 11:11 pm

    Nice. MSU football was great this year! Brine makes everything tastier. And did your sister think out the seating arrangement? Mojo and Patti strategically map out the projected conversational trends and place the namecards accordingly. I said last year that the last time I sat next to my wife on OFD, it was during the Reagan administration.

    • 2 my2fish December 3, 2011 at 9:46 am

      was? there are still 2 games to play… a B1G one tonight.

      we usually sit near our spouses, and most of the kids are at a smaller nearby table. I like your idea to mix it up, though – I’ll have to remember that for next year! (or even Christmas).


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,308 other followers

recently tweeted @my2fish

my2fish archives

my2fish stats

  • 449,305 hits
Sailing Blogs
Sailing Blogs - Blog Catalog Blog Directory

