“real frostbiters sail Sunfish”

I’m not sure if the Newport Laser Fleet 413 will agree, but the Barrington Yacht Club seems to think that real frostbiters sail Sunfish.  both fleets are in Rhode Island, and maybe only a half hour drive from each other.

photo by Eric Woodman (from EastBayRI.com)

here’s the article from EastBayRI.com where the Sunfish sailors present their case.  here is some information on the racing:

The Barrington Yacht Club starts its fall frostbite season on Sunday, Oct. 23, and will race through Dec. 18. Then they’ll be back at it March 4 to April 29 for the spring season. Thereafter, it’s too warm, too comfortable, for any self-respecting frostbite sailor.

and a great quote stirring the pot up with that other Laser fleet:

“If you frostbite a Laser on a windy day, you’re bound to go swimming if you’re trying hard,” Mr. Garland said. Sunfish, though, are more stable.

I’m just passing along the news… don’t shoot the messenger.  I’ve never even tried frostbiting with my Sunfish… I’ve done a polar-bear swim many a time in Lake Michigan’s frigid waters, but I’ve never tried sailing in waters that cold.

 

 

4 Responses to ““real frostbiters sail Sunfish””


  1. 1 Baydog November 10, 2011 at 7:39 pm

    I’ll be standing by………..

  2. 2 Tillerman November 10, 2011 at 10:39 pm

    As an ex-Sunfish sailor I have, in fact, considered buying a Sunfish again and joining the Barrington Sunfish fleet one winter. I know some of the people who sail in the fleet and I’m sure it would be fun.

    However…. I do have to point out that the Laser sailors in Newport sail every weekend from the beginning of November to the end of April (except for Christmas and Easter weekends) but the Sunfish sailors in Barrington seem to be taking January and February off for some reason. I can’t imagine why. I’ve had some of my most enjoyable days of frostbiting with the Newport Laser fleet in those months.

    And I can also confirm that Mr. Garland’s second quote is accurate. I proved him right in Newport only last Sunday. Yes, Lasers do capsize occasionally. It just adds to the excitement.

    • 3 my2fish November 11, 2011 at 7:44 am

      I think it’d be nice to have both options that close – if you feel like the thrill of the Laser (or Kirby?), you drive down to Newport. if you prefer to stay dry that day and sail the easier (?) Sunfish, you drive up to Barrington.

      seems like a win-win situation to me.

      most Michigan lakes, including large parts of the Great Lakes, freeze over during the coldest winter months, so I don’t think you’d find any frostbiting going on around here during those months either.

      • 4 Gary Bleck November 21, 2011 at 11:08 pm

        Technicaly the Waukegan (on lake michigan) frost bite season is November through April but yea practicaly speaking January and most of Feb is mostly iced over and or howling wind that would snap an el toro mast in half. Real men ride the bull. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,317 other followers

my2fish archives

my2fish stats

  • 452,412 hits
Sailing Blogs
Sailing Blogs - Blog Catalog Blog Directory

