spartan friday night lights

I’ll be there tonight with my 2 older boys and a group of other family members and friends, as Michigan State kicks off the 2011 season with a Friday night home game against Youngstown State.

6 Responses to “spartan friday night lights”


  1. 1 Baydog September 2, 2011 at 9:49 am

    It bugs me that big schools gang up on smaller schools early in the season. I think they should get right into it, they’ve been practicing all year long more or less. Penn State’s first game is against Rutgers-Camden.

  2. 2 my2fish September 2, 2011 at 10:17 am

    baydog, I don’t disagree, but it seems most every school does it. and FWIW, I think the small schools enjoy the increased media attention (and boatload of money) they get for playing the bigger schools.

    with the addition of Nebraska to the B1G Ten (now 12 teams), they are going to switch to a 9-game conference schedule – better, stronger opponents, but then their records won’t look as shiny as some of the other conference schools.

    my weekends during the regular conference games are usually swamped with soccer games for my boys, so I’ll take any chance to drive up and watch a MSU game live that I can get (especially if the tickets are free!).

  3. 3 Baydog September 2, 2011 at 12:14 pm

    I know it’s good for the smaller schools and yes, the money is there. It almost guarantees an undefeated start for a lot of the bigger schools.
    Have fun with the boys tonight!

    • 4 my2fish September 2, 2011 at 12:30 pm

      baydog – what frustrates me is when a team does schedule hard – for example Penn State this year… if they play a great game against Alabama, but lose in a close game – somehow with that loss they are more penalized than all of the other big schools that beat up on all the lesser schools in the non-con games.

  4. 5 Baydog September 2, 2011 at 2:17 pm

    and this whole BCS thing is a scam. We need playoffs to crown the real champ.


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,318 other followers

my2fish archives

my2fish stats

  • 469,278 hits
Sailing Blogs
Sailing Blogs - Blog Catalog Blog Directory

