camping weekend & evening sail with my son

we just spent a long weekend camping at a nearby state park with some family and friends.  it was a great time, with pretty decent weather, although it was pretty humid most of the time, and the mosquitoes were absolutely vicious!  we did get a few spotty raindrops here and there, but nothing ever significant – so that was great.  spent a bunch of time on the beach, roasting smores… the usual.

winds were pretty light most of the weekend, so I only tried to sail late in the evening on Sunday night – it was still pretty calm, but I was able to drift/sail a while with one of my nephews, and then mostly drift and paddle with my oldest son.  it was pretty neat, though, to watch as the sun was slowly sinking down in the sky as we were sailing.  we made it back with plenty of light to haul the boat out and head back to the campsite.

I’ll try to post more details and pictures from the weekend later.

5 Responses to “camping weekend & evening sail with my son”


  1. 1 Baydog August 8, 2011 at 10:48 pm

    M2F: I love how you often take someone with you on the Sunfish.
    I’m practically sinking the gunwhales myself, even while planing!

    • 2 my2fish August 9, 2011 at 6:59 am

      baydog, I’m no lightweight myself, which is probably why the light wind days really frustrate me. but, I do enjoy introducing sailing to others, especially young kids. my 12-yr old nephew had been asking to sail all weekend, so I am glad I got to take him for a ride.

  2. 3 Kir August 9, 2011 at 7:43 am

    Love the picture. Wish we could have come to visit…


  1. 1 sunfish sailing with my son [video] « my2fish: a blog about sunfish sailing Trackback on August 14, 2011 at 3:23 pm

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,317 other followers

my2fish archives

my2fish stats

  • 452,411 hits
Sailing Blogs
Sailing Blogs - Blog Catalog Blog Directory

