today’s tunes: the National – about today

so, I am a huge fan of the band The National, and listen to them all the time.  tonight I was watching their live set from Austin City Limits online, and they closed their set with a song “About Today” from the Cherry Tree EP.  it was a new song for me, as I don’t have this album (yet… it’s on the way) – but I am already a huge fan of the song.  the following is the album version, audio only:

the soft repeating drumbeats in the background are great, the violin is great – I love their use of it in so many songs, the simple lyrics are moving, and the lead singer Matt Berninger’s voice is powerful as always.

if you’d like to see the whole set from Austin City Limits (it’s well worth watching), you can stream it online at video.pbs.org.

3 Responses to “today’s tunes: the National – about today”


  1. 1 bee April 28, 2011 at 8:25 am

    Thank for video.

  2. 2 Capt. Black April 30, 2011 at 12:51 pm

    I’m sitting in a low-key cafe in New Orleans and that song was perfect! Thanks for the recommendation.


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,325 other followers

my2fish archives

my2fish stats

  • 472,775 hits
Sailing Blogs
Sailing Blogs - Blog Catalog Blog Directory

