sailing on Crystal Lake, Michigan [video]

I finally got around to editing down video from one of the great days of sailing that my wife and I had together during our vacation this August.  this is from our 3rd day of sailing – and it was the day with the most wind.

  • music: Kissing Families by Silversun Pickups (live @ WOXY.com)
  • video camera: GoPro HD Surf Hero

we sailed on Crystal Lake, launching from the free public ramp near the public beach right in downtown Beulah, Michigan.  over the course of about 3 hours that afternoon, we sailed approximately 5 miles west across the lake, and then turned around to sail back to the beach.  the video is mostly shot as we are sailing west across the lake, as either the memory card or the battery in the GoPro camera seem to max out at about 1.5 hours of video.

a few things I’ve now learned – I really need to get the Rain-X (that GoPro recommends) to put over the camera lens – it is supposed to help a lot with the water drops that get on the camera lens housing.  second – water drops, combined with sailing directly towards the sun don’t make for good video.  there were some great parts that I didn’t include in the video where my wife was hiking way out to keep the boat flat, but the video was all washed out due to the glare from the sun.  lesson learned (hopefully!).

6 Responses to “sailing on Crystal Lake, Michigan [video]”


  1. 1 Joe Rouse November 24, 2010 at 12:49 pm

    I liked the video even with the glare….thanks for the Rain-x suggestion. I was bummed out from droplets on the lens of my xacti.

  2. 2 alli November 26, 2010 at 1:26 pm

    very fun. I think it looked kind of cool with the sun glare + water drops at times! but maybe that’s just me : )

  3. 3 Melissa December 6, 2010 at 10:33 am

    very cool! It looks like so much fun.


  1. 1 small boat sailing in a lightning storm « my2fish: a blog about sunfish sailing Trackback on November 13, 2011 at 8:14 pm
  2. 2 Michigan: a great place to sail « my2fish: a blog about sunfish sailing Trackback on April 30, 2012 at 8:32 pm
  3. 3 today’s tunes: growing old is getting old | my2fish: a blog about sunfish sailing Trackback on June 7, 2014 at 7:33 am

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,327 other followers

my2fish archives

my2fish stats

  • 466,194 hits
Sailing Blogs
Sailing Blogs - Blog Catalog Blog Directory

