signs, signs, everywhere there’s signs

my wife was out of town this past week, so I was by myself at church early last Sunday morning with all 3 of my young boys.  they were behaving pretty well, particularly Luke, my 2.5 yr old son.  Luke can at times be just a tad frustrating, but for being only 2.5 yrs old – he does pretty well sitting still in the church pews, reading his little kid’s Bible or playing with small toy tractors (his favorite).

this week, during the sermon, the pastor was using random clip-art pictures on the projector screens at the front of the church to illustrate a few of the points he was making in his sermon.  I didn’t realize Luke was paying attention to the projector screens, until the pastor — to emphasize that some times choices are simple, black and white, or left and right – used this image on the screen:

Luke, looking up at just that moment blurted out:

BATMAN!  Da-nah-nah-nah…. BATMAN!

I guess I can sort of see the similarity, especially through the eyes of a young boy, and at a pretty good distance from our seats.

Luckily, I had wisely picked a pew towards the back of church, and maybe only 1 or 2 nearby families heard.   I thought it was hilarious, and had trouble not laughing out loud in church, though.

8 Responses to “signs, signs, everywhere there’s signs”


  1. 1 Tillerman October 30, 2010 at 9:38 pm

    Apparently my 2-year-old son has a habit of shouting out in church too. If the service is going on too long for him he will wait until the priest pauses for breath and then loudly announce, “All Done Now!”

  2. 2 Tillerman October 30, 2010 at 9:40 pm

    That should be grandson.

    • 3 Baydog October 31, 2010 at 12:39 am

      O Lord our Lord, how excellent is thy name in all the earth! who hast set thy glory above the heavens.
      Out of the mouth of babes and sucklings hast thou ordained strength because of thine enemies, that thou mightest still the enemy and the avenger.

    • 4 my2fish October 31, 2010 at 7:04 am

      Tillerman – my 2-yr old does the same thing, usually towards the end of the service, and always when it is really quiet.

  3. 5 Tweezerman October 31, 2010 at 7:07 pm

    Wow Baydog! Someone who has been bludgeoned by nuns? A Catlicker (as a friend says)? Church of England for me (not quite Catlicker) but very close.

  4. 6 Baydog October 31, 2010 at 8:35 pm

    No Tweez, you got it all wrong.

  5. 7 Hotel Chicago November 1, 2010 at 10:45 am

    Great to hear that I am not the only one who has to control himself from laughing out loud at church on account of my Children.


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,318 other followers

my2fish archives

my2fish stats

  • 468,845 hits
Sailing Blogs
Sailing Blogs - Blog Catalog Blog Directory

