back from vacation

we’re just now back from a week long vacation in the northwest portion of Michigan’s lower peninsula.  I was able to spend a few great days alone with my wife in Traverse City, celebrating a month early our 10-year wedding anniversary, and then we finished up the rest of the week in Arcadia, Michigan, rejoining our 3 boys who were staying there with my parents, my youngest sister, and another sister and her family.  my wife and I sailed together on the Sunfish 3 times on our Traverse City trip, and I was able to sail 1 time in Lake Michigan back at Arcadia.  they were all good sailing days, but Thursday was great fun — the wind was lighter, the waves on Lake Michigan were calmer, and I was able to take my 2 youngest boys, my father, and sister (and several other kids) out for their 1st ever trip on a sailboat.  my wife and 9-yr old son were also playing out on the water, one each in a kayak.  here’s a little informal family picture out on the water:

as if I wasn’t already way behind on posting a bunch of stuff from this summer, the week up north has given me plenty more to post about.  I tested out my new GoPro video camera, so as soon as I figure out how to edit down some of the videos, I’ll get them posted.  the week did not end without some sadness: I was jumping in the much bigger waves on Friday with my 9-yr old son, and had taken my (prescription=$$$) sport sunglasses off to hold in my hand so a wave wouldn’t knock them off my head… only to somehow squeeze them too hard in my hand, and pop one of the lenses out, now forever lost in Lake Michigan.  I also lost my trailer flag – it snapped off on the way home, sheared right through the aluminum rod at one of the holes drilled for cotter pins.

(much) more to come later!

4 Responses to “back from vacation”


  1. 1 Q August 29, 2010 at 12:08 am

    That sucks about the sunglasses! I’ll have to tell you about my sailing adventure on our vacation!

  2. 2 Gretchen August 29, 2010 at 7:06 am

    Oh sorry to hear about your sunglasses and flag. But it was a fun time! First time sailing and only came away with a bump on the head for me!

  3. 3 alli August 29, 2010 at 5:54 pm

    sounds like lots of fun. bummer about the sunglasses…I lost mine in the ocean in Hawaii (they weren’t prescription but they were still cool!).


  1. 1 sailing with 2 of my boys (video) « my2fish: a blog about sunfish sailing Trackback on September 1, 2010 at 9:34 pm

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,327 other followers

my2fish archives

my2fish stats

  • 466,105 hits
Sailing Blogs
Sailing Blogs - Blog Catalog Blog Directory

