10 stone 5

as you may recall, I stored the Sunfish over the winter in the 2nd floor of my dad’s barn, with a fan running most of the early spring months to force airflow across the foam blocks.  the dry(ish) winter air in the barn, combined with the constant air flow would serve to dry out any moisture in the boat, as well as reverse the osmosis process and draw any absorbed water back out of the foam flotation blocks.

getting the boat down out of the barn was a much simpler process – I rigged up a block and tackle system with a 1/2″ diameter, 100-ft long rope and 2 pulleys, to get a 4 to 1 mechanical advantage.  gravity was also working in our favor, I guess.  my dad was on the ground, holding the end of the 100-ft rope, and I was up in the barn with my brother-in-law (we had an extra rope on the boat, in case my pulley system didn’t work).  my dad was able to easily lower it down to the ground though.  I’m sure that the drying out had helped as well.  sorry about no pictures – it went so quickly and so easily, I didn’t even have time to grab my camera.

after I trailered the Sunfish back to my house, I stood it up on its edge on a bathroom scale out in my garage.  this was the moment of truth… the Sunfish weighed in at 145 pounds, or 10 stone 5 (pounds)!  per the amazing “Files” section over at the Yahoo Sunfish Sailor group, I determined that my boat would have weighed approximately 139 pounds brand new back in the 1960’s, so at only 6 pounds overweight at 40+ years later, I was pretty happy!  I’m bummed that I didn’t weigh the Sunfish in the fall, as I would have liked to know the amount of water weight we were able to remove.  but my father and brother-in-law both think it could have been over 200 pounds, as even with 4 guys – she was a bear to carry down to the beach.

now that I’ve determined that I am able to dry the boat out and get it back down to a decent hull weight, the next steps will be to replace the bedding foam above and below the foam flotation blocks, perform a leak test, and get any hull leaks repaired.

3 Responses to “10 stone 5”


  1. 1 alli July 31, 2010 at 10:13 pm

    awesome! glad to hear your sunfish decided to lose some pounds over the winter : )

  2. 2 Peter August 2, 2010 at 12:30 pm

    Agreed. It’s always nice when you can lighten ’em up a bit.

  3. 3 David Harns August 2, 2010 at 10:02 pm

    I’m going to go on the same weight loss regiment: blowing air on me all winter long.


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,318 other followers

my2fish archives

my2fish stats

  • 468,917 hits
Sailing Blogs
Sailing Blogs - Blog Catalog Blog Directory

