windward leg – fall 2009

for quite some time now, I’ve heard things here and there about a newsletter published by the Sunfish Class, but as I have yet to join, I haven’t seen a whole issue myself (although I have seen pages from some of the old issues – they can be found in the excellent Sunfish Bible, also available from the Sunfish Class).  I’ve searched on Google for them before, but never had any luck finding any copies online.  I was pleasantly surprised a few days ago when looking at the main webpage for the Sunfish Class to see a little blinking red NEW tag next to a title: Windward Leg.  I clicked the link to download the .pdf file, figuring it would be a short little 2 or 3 pager with just some miscellaneous updates.  I was blown away when the file opened – it is 44 pages and chocked full of information!

there is pretty good coverage of the Sunfish Worlds, as well as plenty of coverage with race results from many of the regions, including coverage of the Midwest Regional #2 where I was able to watch the racing and take pictures of the Sunfish (and the Lightning sailboats).  there is some minimal advertising, but the majority of it is from the well-known Sunfish suppliers that most of us are already familiar with.

download it yourself and enjoy: Windward Leg (Fall 2009) (.pdf link)

2 Responses to “windward leg – fall 2009”


  1. 1 Joe April 9, 2010 at 9:46 am

    I just discovered your website… interesting reading.

    For years the Windward Leg was a privilege for class membership. Apparently that policy has changed – thanks for alerting me. I wonder what prompted that?

    Regardless, I will still join and support the class. I wonder if this change will encourage or discourage people from joining. For me, the decision is easy because I would like to try racing. For others, it might not be so straight forward.


  1. 1 joining the Sunfish Class « my2fish: a blog about sunfish sailing Trackback on July 11, 2010 at 6:41 pm

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,327 other followers

my2fish archives

my2fish stats

  • 473,835 hits
Sailing Blogs
Sailing Blogs - Blog Catalog Blog Directory

