USA wins the 33rd America’s Cup

I’m a little late to the game, as most sailors are already aware of the results of the 33rd America’s Cup, but earlier this week BMW Oracle/USA won the 2nd match race against Alinghi/Swiss to win the best 2 out of 3 series, and reclaim the America’s Cup trophy for the USA.

BMW Oracle has been posting great updates at their blog over the last few weeks leading up to and then during each of the races.  Great photos from the race, as well as amazing videos as well. I really liked this one (although JP didn’t like the use of “mission accomplished”)…

for more coverage of AC33 at some of the blogs I frequent:

I’m sure I’ve forgotten some, but it’s a decent start.

as for me – I found the racing fascinating.  sure, AC33 was mired in political bickering, and it was really a battle of the 2 super-mega-rich guys spending wads of cash to make a sailboat so technically advanced and well beyond the grasp of pretty much anyone living in reality.  and, I realize that even though the USA won, it was really French engineers and Kiwi sailors maybe that got the job done.  but still, seeing those 2 amazing boats fly across the water, several times faster than the wind speed was just a thing of beauty.

with America’s Cup 34 already rumored to be held here in the USA in a few years, I will admit that I’ll be tempted to maybe conveniently schedule a vacation to just so happen to be in the same town (San Diego?  Newport? San Francisco?) at the same time, to be able to experience the excitement and atmosphere first hand.

until then, I guess there is always the Volvo Ocean Race to follow!

0 Responses to “USA wins the 33rd America’s Cup”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,325 other followers

my2fish archives

my2fish stats

  • 472,580 hits
Sailing Blogs
Sailing Blogs - Blog Catalog Blog Directory

