maggie sings

a while back, I posted a helmet cam video from a Sunfish race that was put together by dayton colie. he also has this great video he released where he is sailing in a race with his young daughter, maggie.

I think the video is fantastic – it shows a great relationship between father and daughter as they enjoy a nice day sailing the Sunfish, singing silly songs with made-up words to each other. dayton tries to work in a little sailing instruction as well, to plant the seeds for a future Sunfish sailor, I would imagine.  and what better way for a child to learn to sail than to spend that time with a parent?  it inspires me to make sure I get my boys out on the water with me as much as I can in the coming years, especially while they are still young and thrilled by more than anything to just spend time with their dad.

this is how dayton describes it himself:

During the last downwind leg we start singing, and I’m reminded of how fun sailing is when you take it a notch down from being ultra competitive. Making sure she’s having a good time is priority number one – because she’s six, and the fun is what makes people fall in love with sailing.

let me know what you think.

2 Responses to “maggie sings”


  1. 1 RL January 19, 2010 at 8:20 am

    This MADE MY DAY! I cannot wait to show this to my little one… (also gave me a good idea for where to sit the little one when underway!)… this was FANTASTIC. Thank you so much for sharing it.
    Love it, love it, love it.
    The best moments in life are truly these…even better when put to self-made music.
    🙂
    Thanks again,
    RL

  2. 2 Jim Holland January 19, 2010 at 9:31 am

    Thanks for sharing. This is why sailing is soooooooo cool!


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,318 other followers

my2fish archives

my2fish stats

  • 468,917 hits
Sailing Blogs
Sailing Blogs - Blog Catalog Blog Directory

