new end caps for my mast

when I stopped at Torresen Marine a few months back, I picked up new end caps for my mast – the plain cap for the base of the mast, and the mast cap with the integrated fairlead for the top of the mast. (my current top of mast has a domed cap, but a small through-bolt with a small block for the halyard — see picture below. I currently don’t have a base cap at the bottom – about 6 or 8 inches up the inside of the mast I can see some wood blocking – I assume the original cork?).

mast cap with block

I opened up the packaging for the new mast base cap to test fit it – BUT the base cap outside diameter is too large. my boat is pre-71, not sure if the mast is original, but it seems to be. I haven’t checked the mast top cap yet, but I would assume I’ll run into the same problem there. I kind of doubt that the mast inside diameter been changed, and it honestly appears as if the base is almost necked down slightly – maybe from wear and tear?

Img0148_006 mast base cap

I think my path forward will have to be to try to carefully trim down the plastic or heavily sand down the plastic base cap to get it to fit.  I emailed my contact at Torresen Marine, and he recommended sanding the plastic, and NOT trying to sand the aluminum mast (after all… in the words of Frank Costanza, aluminum has a “very high strength-to-weight ratio”).

 

4 Responses to “new end caps for my mast”


  1. 1 czander November 6, 2009 at 11:30 pm

    Hey, thanks for the comment, I’m new to this blogging thing but it has been fun so far. Great to meet a fellow sailor. Do you travel with the boats much??? Good looking site.

    • 2 my2fish November 8, 2009 at 8:14 am

      Chris, I’m about 45 minutes in several directions for the closest lakes, so I always have to trailer them at least that far.
      On vacation this summer (and a few times previously), I’ve trailered them about 4 hours up to the northern part of Michigan (lower peninsula still) to sail on Lake Michigan.

  2. 3 Peter July 22, 2011 at 12:43 pm

    Hi,

    How did you get the base mast cap off? I am planning on replacing mine this weekend. I don’t see any rivets, and it is on pretty good. Should I cut through with my rotary tool?

    Sunfish65

    • 4 my2fish July 22, 2011 at 1:47 pm

      my old mast didn’t have an existing base cap! if you have a new one, and are planning to replace it, then I think used a rotary tool to cut out the old one makes perfect sense. if the old one is glued in, you might have to clean up the inside wall of the mast before you can install the new one, though.


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,327 other followers

my2fish archives

my2fish stats

  • 466,194 hits
Sailing Blogs
Sailing Blogs - Blog Catalog Blog Directory

