sunfish race helmet cam video

from www.sunfishracing.com, check out this pretty sweet helmet-cam video from the 2009 Sunfish North Americans.  it’s about 10 minutes long, so sit back and enjoy.  it’ll give you a pretty good idea of how things progress out on the water during a race.

I think all of the background music during the video is also done by Dayton Colie (from sunfishracing.com).  you can find more information at http://daytoncolie.com/, or at his myspace page, http://www.myspace.com/daytoncoliemusic – he has his own CD, “Orange Tetrahedron”, with all of the music related to sailing… in his words:

I wanted to make an album that encompassed
things that I love about sailing.  The vocabulary
will probably elude non sailors, and that’s o.k.,
because this album is made for those that sail
and love sailing.   This is modern sailing music,
an entire album of it, made by a sailor for other
sailors.  It’s been field tested by sail makers,
world champion sailors, the readers of Sailing
Anarchy, and cruisers.


3 Responses to “sunfish race helmet cam video”


  1. 1 winjaw September 30, 2009 at 11:38 pm

    Very sweet racing.

    However, my Hobie is still faster.

    Anyway, it’s obvious technology is taking over even the Sunfish.

    Too many fancy gadgets. On my old Sunfish, if you’re not holding the main sheet in your teeth at some point, like during a tack, well then, you’re really not sailing.

    Just don’t tell my dentist.

    • 2 my2fish September 30, 2009 at 11:50 pm

      technology? it looks pretty much like any other Sunfish to me. oh wait, did you mean the helmet-cam is the fancy tech gadget? I don’t recall that being standard issue with a Sunfish (I wish – I’m a nerd, remember?). more than likely, he’s just geeked about Sunfish, kind of like you and No. 2 pencils, maybe? 🙂

      but your teeth? seriously? my mainsheet has dragged itself through some nasty swamp-like lake water… I’d be more worried about dysentery than I would my dentist.

      and, yes, I’m sure your Hobie would go screaming past my 40-yr old Sunfish.


  1. 1 maggie sings « my2fish: a blog about sunfish sailing Trackback on January 18, 2010 at 10:24 pm

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,330 other followers

my2fish archives

my2fish stats

  • 460,469 hits
Sailing Blogs
Sailing Blogs - Blog Catalog Blog Directory

