torresen – great customer service!

today, I was pleasantly surprised to get an email directly from Torresen Marine, where as you may recall, I had a rather poor experience.  this was largely due to high expectations on my part and poor selection of parts at the store due to having trouble getting parts from Laser Performance.  I might not have been very clear in my previous post, but I didn’t really fault Torresen in this case.  anyway, this is the email message I received today:

Greetings,

I wanted to take an opportunity to apologize for your recent visit to our ships store.  It is my understanding that as a Sunfish dealer you expected us to have more product on the shelf.  I agree with you 100%.  This time of year we should have 20 times as much product on the shelf as we did during your visit.  This has been a very, very difficult year for obtaining Sunfish Parts.  That is not meant to be an excuse but a reality of the current supply chain related to Sunfish parts.

I hope that you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future.  In fact, the next time you are in need of Sunfish part please feel free to contact me directly.  I would be happy to extend you a discount to help earn your business again.  We have been in the sailing business for more than 45 years and it is our pleasure when we can help people like you.  On the other hand, it it is our disappointment when we disappoint sailors like you.

Hope to hear from you soon.

to me, it doesn’t get much better than this – Torresen has proven that customer satisfaction is extremely important to them, and have gone out of their way to make sure my next experience with them is better.  my opinion of them just jumped up a few notches, and all it took was a simple, yet personal email message.

kudos to Torresen Marine.

3 Responses to “torresen – great customer service!”


  1. 1 alli michelle September 9, 2009 at 11:20 pm

    That’s right – kudos to them for taking the time to write you! And even offer you a discount. Now that’s good customer retention.

  2. 2 Carol Anne September 10, 2009 at 2:14 am

    Maybe by the time Pat and I have money to restart our massive boat-rebuilding project, Torreson will once again have a good supply of parts. We’ll certainly be keeping them in mind.


  1. 1 sunfish mainsheet block « my2fish: a blog about sunfish sailing Trackback on March 2, 2010 at 10:37 pm

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,327 other followers

my2fish archives

my2fish stats

  • 473,784 hits
Sailing Blogs
Sailing Blogs - Blog Catalog Blog Directory

