book review: Sail (by James Patterson)

so I picked up the book “Sail”, by James Patterson (with Howard Roughan), to read while I was on vacation.

I figured it had a certain appeal of late since my interest in sailing has definitely grown over the past months.  plus, several years ago, I used to pick up hardcover copies of James Patterson’s earlier books off the $5 cheap table at the bookstore – and always enjoyed his books.  so I figured with a good author, and a great potential topic (sailing), I could hardly go wrong.  I picked up a copy at the local library a few days prior to our trip.

as per typical James Patterson work, it was quite easy to read: quick/short chapters, but still enough intrigue could build up to really make it hard to put the book down.  I won’t lie, though, there was a healthy lacking of any real sailing information, other than the family started the book by taking a sailing trip to “bring the family back together”, and then shortly thereafter shipwrecked it.  and that’s about it in regards to sailing.

overall, I’d say the book was pretty decent, and pretty typical for James Patterson’s style of work – I read it quickly and enjoyed the plot and the characters.  but, I was also disappointed that the book really hardly touched on anything sailing other than to describe the boat.

rating: 3 (out of 5) stars

3 Responses to “book review: Sail (by James Patterson)”


  1. 1 Harley Stanton February 17, 2010 at 6:33 am

    I’m currently transcribing a crew list from the Ship Conway which lists the name of a ship the Minnehaha for several of the crew members. Do you have any more details of this ship, as to when she was built and where?

    Thanks

    Harley

  2. 2 my2fish February 17, 2010 at 8:58 am

    Harley,
    I have no more information that what I found by using Google for a while.
    http://www.arcadiami.com/Exhibits/Minnehaha/Minnhaha.htm

    good luck,
    my2fish

  3. 3 Harley Stanton April 13, 2010 at 2:31 am

    I wonder if there was an earlier Minnehaha as in one of the transcribed lists for the Crew Members on the Conway, a sailor indicated that he had been a Crew Member of the Minnehaha at a time prior to the building of this ship in 1880. Of course time travel was not possible then as it is now!!!!

    Thanks for your earlier post.

    Regards

    Harley Stanton


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,318 other followers

my2fish archives

my2fish stats

  • 469,136 hits
Sailing Blogs
Sailing Blogs - Blog Catalog Blog Directory

