i’m on vacation!

hello, just wanted to let you know that I will be on vacation starting tomorrow morning, saturday, august 22, thru late friday, august 28.  I’m heading off for a week-long vacation, back where it all beganCamp Arcadia.  my 2 older boys are ridiculously excited to be there, and have been talking about it for months – excited to spend time at the camp, as well as with their Opa & Oma (grandparents) and a whole slew of cousins!

hopefully I will get a few sailing adventures in while on vacation, and will post about them when I return.  the weather is supposed to be a bit on the cooler side though (low 70’s max temps), so maybe I’ll get a chance to test-drive my new shorty wetsuit.

as my last time on Lake Michigan with the Sunfish was a bit crazy (I’ve yet to post about that sailing trip – let me just say it was my introduction to “turtling” a sailboat, and my sailing partner Clint thought I almost drowned), I have been thinking I would opt for one of the nearby inland lakes to sail – there are (2) nice ones, both within maybe 30 minutes max drive that should work great, and not have quite as large of waves.

please note: as my comments are moderated (at least for 1st time commenters), please don’t be offended if I can’t approve them until I return, as I will have limited (if any) internet access for the entire week.  happy sailing, my2fish.
2 Responses to “i’m on vacation!”


  1. 1 alli michelle August 26, 2009 at 12:14 am

    Hope you guys are having good weather for sailing! I would definitely vote for one of the inland lakes (with fewer waves), but then again it would be awesome to sail on Lake Michigan. The “turtling” doesn’t sound like something I would enjoy though!

  2. 2 my2fish August 29, 2009 at 9:14 pm

    alli, weather was an interesting mix – the lake was different conditions (drastically) every day.

    clint was able to sail his sandpiper 8 a couple times. I sailed my Sunfish only once, but it was for a couple hours, and was a great time… I will post more about it later on (waiting to get all my pictures organized).

    “turtling” is just capsizing and having the boat’s mast go completely under (so the boat does a complete 180)… not the end of the world, but a bit trickier than a normal tipping over. that’s the name of the game when sailing small boats, though. once you’ve righted them a couple times, you’ll see it isn’t too bad, and gives you a chance to cool off!


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,325 other followers

my2fish archives

my2fish stats

  • 456,456 hits
Sailing Blogs
Sailing Blogs - Blog Catalog Blog Directory

