my intro to sailing

my introduction to sailing goes back to the summer I worked as assistant caretaker at Camp Arcadia.  I was 18 years old, so that puts it back in the summer of 1998 – hard to believe that was 11 years ago!  A fellow camp staffer, sean, had a Sunfish at his parent’s cottage at the near-by cottage colony, and he asked me and another staffer, jim, to join him for a sail on Lake Michigan.  sadly, I don’t remember to many specifics of that maiden Sunfish voyage, but honestly – 3 guys in their late teens, even low-balling us a 150lbs each adds up to 450lbs of sailor – even in a heavy wind we wouldn’t have been going very fast.  nevertheless, I was hooked.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,326 other followers

my2fish archives

my2fish stats

  • 471,009 hits
Sailing Blogs
Sailing Blogs - Blog Catalog Blog Directory

