my 1st fish

okay, so using the term “fish”, in fact is slightly misleading… but I’ll get to that.  jump forward a few years since my maiden voyage, but strangely enough, keep me right there at Camp Arcadia… where it all began.  this time, it was early September 2002, and I was there for the annual men’s retreat.  I was daydreaming with my old pal, the real caretaker (remember – I was just the lowly assistant), telling him how much I’d enjoyed that 1 afternoon of sailing back in ’98, and would love to find a way to start sailing again.

as luck would have it, the caretaker just so happened to have bought an old sailboat off a grandma in the cottage colony for $50… but he hadn’t really used it much, and didn’t really plan to, either.  lucky me!  I offered to purchase the boat from him, and he agreed to let it go for the same $50 price tag.  my dad had his pickup truck with him, so we loaded it up and took it home that weekend.

details on the 1st fish: come to find out, it’s actually not a Sunfish, but a knock-off or clone, known as a Super Porpoise.

4 Responses to “my 1st fish”


  1. 1 David Moore July 20, 2012 at 2:08 pm

    CAN YOU TELL ME WHAT THE TWO HOLES IN THE COCKPIT ARE FOR AND WHERE THEY GO.

    • 2 my2fish July 20, 2012 at 2:11 pm

      David, on a Super Porpoise I believe those are drain holes that drain water out of the cockpit on the boat. I haven’t looked at mine in a while to see the underside of the boat to see where it goes, though.


  1. 1 i’m on vacation! « my2fish: a blog about sunfish sailing Trackback on August 21, 2009 at 10:35 pm
  2. 2 Interview with My2fish – Our pick for top blog on Sunfish sailing | Shoreline Sailboats Trackback on May 23, 2013 at 9:35 pm

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,318 other followers

my2fish archives

my2fish stats

  • 468,845 hits
Sailing Blogs
Sailing Blogs - Blog Catalog Blog Directory

