sunfish winter storage

today was an unseasonably warm day for January in Michigan – I think the temperatures were in the high 50′s this afternoon.  I’ve been unable to take my Sunfish up to my dad’s barn for winter storage due to various schedule conflicts and then snowy roads – so today was shaping up to be a perfect day to drive the hour or so west to his house and put it away in his barn.

I forgot to take any pictures today, but it looks pretty much the same as last year’s winter storage (see pic below)!  since no one was home – I even muscled the Sunfish up there by myself – it took a little creativity and some brute strength, but I was able to lift the boat up and fasten the 2×4 beams under it to hold it in place.

winter storage IMG_0073

when I was driving home, I did chance upon a VERY different way to store a Sunfish, and just had to stop and take a picture.  it looks like it was just tossed into the back of the old beat up wooden boat.

winter_storage_fail

6 Responses to “sunfish winter storage”


  1. 1 meech January 12, 2013 at 6:08 pm

    Great photo!

  2. 2 Emily January 13, 2013 at 9:47 am

    Whoops, that was mine!

    Kidding, of course.Ours are snuggled in the basement.

  3. 3 Clark January 13, 2013 at 11:45 pm

    Drag it down to Florida and we’ll rehab it. Bring your boat too, it will be warmer here…

    • 4 my2fish January 14, 2013 at 6:58 am

      Clark – those boats aren’t mine, and I didn’t see a for sale sign… I’ll stick with my boats for now. and sure Florida is warmer, but there is all that salt water I’d have to deal with…

  4. 5 ryoko861 January 15, 2013 at 7:57 am

    I was told the best way to store a Sunfish is on it’s side. My 40 some odd year old Sunny was stored on its side leaning against a tree for about 2 years. It keeps any water you may have in the hull from rotting the floatations or supports as it keeps the water from just soaking it all winter. All it needed was a good cleaning. I thought it would hurt it, but it’s actually what saved it from rotting.


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 835 other followers

recently tweeted @my2fish

my2fish archives

my2fish stats

  • 262,256 hits
Sailing Blogs
Sailing Blogs - Blog Catalog Blog Directory

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 835 other followers

