17 Responses to “60th anniversary Sunfish sail”


  1. 1 Tillerman September 13, 2012 at 8:10 pm

    I think it’s interesting that these are clearly recreational sails not racing sails (no window for example) and these publicity photos (couples and dog on Sunfish) are clearly projecting an image of a boat that is just for messing about having fun on, not for racing.

    Has LP given up on the Sunfish as a racing boat?

    • 2 my2fish September 13, 2012 at 8:14 pm

      tillerman, those are great points. maybe because it is an anniversary edition, they are trying to portray how it could mean something different to different people – as many people have grown up with them on a lake (or ocean, or pond) and have used them purely as a recreational past-time.

      maybe LP is focusing on the Laser as their “racing” boat, and the Sunfish as more the recreational boat? that wouldn’t surprise me.

    • 3 my2fish September 13, 2012 at 8:22 pm

      the other thing I found odd about the promotional pictures is that none of the sailors are wearing any type of life jacket or PFD. seems odd to promote something like that.

  2. 4 Tillerman September 13, 2012 at 8:58 pm

    Yes, it’s really nothing new. I think the Sunfish has been positioned by the marketing people like this for many years now. I guess they know who buys them.

    And I guess the “no PFD” pictures are meant to promote that laid-back, just for fun, nothing can go wrong lifestyle. Pretty irresponsible of them.

    Anyway, when I win the contest for the 60th anniversary boat, I will be trading that pretty sail for a racing sail!

  3. 6 Tillerman September 13, 2012 at 9:01 pm

    Wait. I just looked more closely at the picture. i think I do see a window, but the pretty little sunfish are all over the window too. Is that right?

  4. 8 Tillerman September 13, 2012 at 9:07 pm

    Anyway, even if it’s technically a racing sail, I wouldn’t want to race with it. Too easy for the RC to spot when you are OCS!

  5. 11 Tillerman September 13, 2012 at 9:13 pm

    Yes, you can always race with a recreational sail but it’s slower.

    On second thoughts I don’t think there is a window. I was just seeing the bottom crease in the sail.

  6. 12 Baydog September 13, 2012 at 9:15 pm

    First thing that came to mind was Peter Max

  7. 14 Mike Curran September 24, 2012 at 3:18 pm

    Where can you purchase these sails? Went to the North Sails website and could not find them.


  1. 1 10 things about a Sunfish « my2fish: a blog about sunfish sailing Trackback on December 13, 2012 at 7:56 pm
  2. 2 60th Sunfish celebration & sailing dogs | my2fish: a blog about sunfish sailing Trackback on July 29, 2013 at 10:54 am

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 991 other followers

recently tweeted @my2fish

my2fish archives

my2fish stats

  • 325,536 hits
Sailing Blogs
Sailing Blogs - Blog Catalog Blog Directory

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 991 other followers

