wheeleez boat dolly

a few months ago, I just started randomly getting a magazine delivered to my house – “BoatU.S. Magazine“.  I’m not sure, but I’m guessing it was after I set up an online account at West Marine (although I never ordered anything – just got their free catalog… I should have known).  the latest BoatU.S. magazine happily let me know I could subscribe and keep getting it for only $15!  a steal of a deal.

so 99% of the time, I flip through the magazine each month and toss it out in the recycling bin in the garage, as it largely is focused on powerboats, with a plethora of advertising to suit those interests.  this month, though, something finally caught my eye – it was a Sunfish! here is a scan from the page:

the short “article” is promoting a new dolly that is being produced by Wheeleez.  this is the same company where I bought the foam tires that I have been using on my Sunfish PVC dolly.  evidently, they are entering the adjustable small-boat dolly market, hoping to compete with the Seitech, Trailex, and similar models – all in the several hundred dollar price range.

as for me, I’ll stick with my home-made version with the Wheeleez foam wheels.  at probably less than $100 total, it’s much cheaper than some of the dollies listed above, and it gets the job done just fine for me.

2 Responses to “wheeleez boat dolly”


  1. 1 Baydog February 3, 2012 at 8:37 pm

    Keep recycling, M2F! From $573? Ya kiddin me, right? Remember how the Egyptians built the pyramids, with rolling logs? I rest my case. I’m a West Marine catalog sucker also. Candy store. Look at my current banner photo of the Penguin in the background. Those wheels were rusted iron wheels on an axle mounted on a frame built in the extra lot of 829 South Drive. We also had a Lightning on a railway cradle that rolled into the Metedeconk river out in front of Nana;s house. I’m thinking it cost 1% of that freakin wheeleez dolly. Your homemade dolly looks completely functional and knowing that you made it makes it that much better. Sail on, TG!

  2. 2 my2fish February 3, 2012 at 8:50 pm

    yeah, I thought the price was a bit salty. I like to browse the WM catalog, but usually bargain shop at other places. for Sunfish stuff, Intensity Sails is just about the best around.

    I absolutely LOVE all the old photos you have of your family in and on the water. priceless memories.


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 946 other followers

recently tweeted @my2fish

my2fish archives

my2fish stats

  • 317,668 hits
Sailing Blogs
Sailing Blogs - Blog Catalog Blog Directory

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 946 other followers

