sunfish sailing on Lake Erie with my boys

the weather was calling for a chance of showers off and on today, but we decided to take a drive down to Sterling State Park on Lake Erie, and see if we could get some sailing in this afternoon.

I first sailed for a while with my 10 1/2 yr old and 3 yr old sons (we put a life-jacket AND floaties on my youngest!).

the clouds were getting dark, and it ended up raining for maybe 5 minutes right when we got back to shore, so we almost packed up to go home, but the skies looked clear off in the distance, so we stuck around… and I’m glad we did.

it cleared up nicely, and I was able to take my 6 1/2 yr old son out for a sail.

we had a great afternoon down at the beach and out on the water – I’ll post more details and pictures later.

10 Responses to “sunfish sailing on Lake Erie with my boys”


  1. 1 Baydog August 21, 2011 at 11:23 pm

    Some of the best days have been when they were not supposed to be.

    • 2 my2fish August 22, 2011 at 6:35 am

      baydog – I think I’m starting to realize that waiting for the perfect conditions just means I’m missing out on a lot of good, if not great conditions, by sitting at home wishing for that perfect weather.

      we didn’t have any sea salt in our hair, but it was a great day.

  2. 3 Peconic Jeff August 22, 2011 at 8:18 am

    So true – yesterday we went to the ocean for a SUP “desperation session” but were rewarded with much more than we expected.

  3. 4 bonnie August 22, 2011 at 2:56 pm

    Wait a minute – sea salt???

  4. 6 bonnie August 23, 2011 at 3:08 pm

    Ah, I see! What I was thinking is how do you get sea salt in your hair when you are a Great Lakes sailor. One of the things I loved about the kayak camping trip I did up in Georgian Bay many years ago was being able to actually get clean every day!

  5. 7 bonnie August 23, 2011 at 3:11 pm

    Now we had such a good session on Sunday that we weren’t sure if I was any saltier than any of the other sailors by the end of the day – I got my sheet tangled up with my tiller extension & went for a bit of a refreshing dip, but everybody was pretty much drenched by the flying spray. That’s the stuff, right?

    • 8 my2fish August 23, 2011 at 6:50 pm

      bonnie – I had an accidental jibe when my 3-yr old was on the boat with me that was a bit unsettling – but luckily we didn’t tip over, and I was very careful after that. I haven’t tipped in a while, but I found it was usually refreshing when it did happen. there have been hot sunny days where I almost wished it would happen to help me cool off!


  1. 1 sunfish wind indicators « my2fish: a blog about sunfish sailing Trackback on August 29, 2011 at 9:22 pm
  2. 2 Michigan: a great place to sail « my2fish: a blog about sunfish sailing Trackback on April 30, 2012 at 8:32 pm

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 835 other followers

recently tweeted @my2fish

my2fish archives

my2fish stats

  • 262,087 hits
Sailing Blogs
Sailing Blogs - Blog Catalog Blog Directory

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 835 other followers

